iMac Question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by freshie, Apr 24, 2009.

  1. freshie

    freshie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    8,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royersford, PA
    Our sister pawn shop bought a new iMac from some guy off pawn, he never came back to get it so now were going to list it on ebay.

    As i was setting up to take pics of it, i saw it was asking for a name / password.

    I called them but as always, they didnt take this information. :nono:

    Now is there anything i can do to remove the password? Do i need to reinstall the OS? Any help would be appreciated, i am not that familiar with mac's. It has OS X on it.

    thanks
     
  2. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    if he left a user/pass on it, he probably left personal files on it

    how about calling him to give him the opportunity to a) buy it back or b) get his files (and give you the password)? sure, you don't have any obligation to do it, but it's not like one overpriced computer is gonna make your year, and a little customer service goes a long way
     
  3. freshie

    freshie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    8,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royersford, PA
    When we accept stuff on pawn, they have 30 days to pay it back. We call them prior to taking it off pawn. He never responded so it came to my store to sell.
     
  4. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,459
    Likes Received:
    12
    Restart your computer, and while it is starting up, hold Command-S. This will start up your Mac in Single User Mode. Once it has started up, you will need to enter three lines of code. Enter sh /etc/rc and press return. Then enter passwd yourusername and hit return. Now you will have to enter a new password twice. What you type won't appear on screen, but it is working. Once you have done this, type reboot and hit return.
     
  5. freshie

    freshie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    8,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royersford, PA
    ok i got it up in the single user, i typed the SH and hit enter, but it says

    no such file or directory when i typed in etc/rc
     
  6. freshie

    freshie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    8,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royersford, PA
    woohoo thanks crontab, your part helped, but i googled it and found this

    single user mode change password tiger

    1. mount -uw /
    2. sh /etc/rc
    3. ls /users
    4. passwd (user name)

    worked like a charm

    thanks bro
     
  7. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    sweet lol
     

Share This Page