iMac G5 - decent?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by elcano, Oct 29, 2004.

  1. elcano

    elcano Guest

    I've currently got an 800mhz iBook..
    It's a bit slow for my requirements and I'm thinking about getting one of those new iMac g5's.

    Couple of questions:
    1) Can you hang it on the wall? :bigthumb:
    2) Why do they come with so little RAM? (256meg) - I want at least a gig!
    3) Should I bother?
     
  2. Kriddaw

    Kriddaw More than meets the eye.

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    1) I think you can with the VESA wall mounts for the cinema displays. If you do that get bluetooth so you can run wireless mouse and keyboard. That would be sick.
    2) You can just buy a gig of kingston ram on newegg.com or where ever.
    3) Hell yes, it's got a G5 processor!
     
  3. elcano

    elcano Guest

    Sweet! :big grin:
    It's been a long time since I bought 3rd party ram for my mac.
    If I can buy some kingston stuff for it, then there's defiently going to be some g5'ing going on in this household!
     
  4. Kriddaw

    Kriddaw More than meets the eye.

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    You can buy any kind of ram, as long as it's 184 pin DDR400. I have a gig of Transcend RAM in my powerbook and this thing flies. Saved like $500 too cause Apple over charges for ram.
     
  5. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  6. Shogun

    Shogun Turntable tactician

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Provo,Utah. No im not mormon dammit
    I wouldnt recommend an imac g5, they just arent worth the money, id rather buy the new entry level powermac g5 (dual 1.8). although i have seen some pretty cool desk mounts for them.
     
  7. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    why do you feel they "aren't worth the money" compared to a powermac G5?
     
  8. elcano

    elcano Guest

    Considering they are cheaper than the older iMac g4's then I think they're pretty good value. Also take into consideration that they cost of a 20" monitor for a g5 is the same price as the iMac itself, guess which one I'd choose?

    And that vesa wall mount looks the business!
     
  9. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    :werd:
     
  10. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    new one is a single 1.8, just thought you should know.
     
  11. DrCarlo

    DrCarlo Its not that im lazy, its just that I dont care.

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    My G4 has aftermarket everything now

    1gig of aftermarket ram
    2x 80gig HDD
    Pioneer DVD Burner (dual layer)
    Radeon 6000 AGP

    I think I am going to go a new G5 Powermac over the imac just because its alot more upgradeable and I already have a really good quality 21inch CRT. However the imacs are a nice system, throw some more ram into them and it would be sweeet. Its a shame they only come with 256meg from factory but most machines these days doo, probably to keep cost down.
     
  12. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    :coold: what burner did you get, out of curiosity?
     
  13. DrCarlo

    DrCarlo Its not that im lazy, its just that I dont care.

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I got the Pioneer DV108 which is the dual layer. The DV107 is the one which comes in the G5 systems. Its a really good burner, and is fully supported by Toast and the OS..

    All smiles from me.
     

Share This Page