I'm trying to go back to XP. Can you help?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by zedekias, Feb 1, 2008.

  1. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    Before I get flamed to hell, I did search... But it seemed like all the explanations were for people that already knew what they were doing. All I saw was that I need to change something in Bios. Everyone said different things. That I might have to put something on a floppy disk. (I don't have a floppy drive)

    I tried changing the boot sequence to cd. It ran for a few seconds and I got an error saying that it's shutting down to prevent damage. And that I might not have enough space... and a bunch of other stuff.

    Would anyone be willing to give me step by step directions? I'd really appreciate it. :hsd:

    I have a XPS 410.
    Q6600 Quadcore.
    4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
    500gb serial ATA 3gb/s hard drive
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Dell probably has a hidden partition on that drive for recovery purposes.

    Somehow that seems to make things worse when wiping a drive.

    If you can get your hands on a floppy drive you could download a utility to wipe the drive clean, then you could start over.

    I don't know if any of the utilities can be ran off of a cd or not.
     
  3. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    There is a recovery drive.

    I don't get how I'd just "get my hands on one." I can't see myself installing a floppy drive to just wipe my computer. I do have a cd with drivers and utilities. :dunno:

    Is there no other way to wipe everything with out a floppy drive?
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've seen people post this one as being good, and I didn't realize that it also worked off of a cd.


    http://www.killdisk.com/
     
  5. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    I want to use this. But I'm scared of wiping everything and the xp cd still not booting. :noes:
     
  6. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    Did your computer come with restore discs? If not, is there an option for you to backup the recovery drive?
     
  7. herpes

    herpes OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    135,001
    Likes Received:
    172
    Location:
    dfw

    you minus whale just buy a new harddrive and go from there.
     
  8. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    No discs.

    And I don't really get how I'd back up the recovery drive if I wiped everything? But I'm not seeing any options anywhere...
     
  9. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    Umm you suck.
     
  10. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kill disk should work fine.
    Let me be crystal clear about something though.

    I know NOTHING about your PC or that make and model of a Dell computer.

    What I am about to say may or may not apply to your situation.

    Sometimes companies like Dell atempt to cut costs by not shipping a computer with all the physical disks that are needed to properly recover it.
    They get around this by creating a logical partition on a physical hard drive and placing all the information that is needed to recover the OS and get the system back up to its factory state on that partition.

    If this is the case for you you are looking at 2 potential problems.

    1. If you whipe that partition you loose your only tool for getting that computer working again.
    2. If you beg, borrow or steal an XP disc and get the computer running you may find yourself missing your all important network driver.
    If you don't have that driver you can't get on the internet (I am assuming a broadband connection). No access to the net and, well you have no way of aquiring the driver or any other drivers.

    Here is what I would do.

    I would start out by trying to locate those discs in my house.
    If I couldn't find them - or if I was unsure if they where what I needed I would call Dell and request them to mail me the physical CD's needed to restore my computer back to its factory setting.
    They will do it, they have those CD's and they mail them out all the time.
    And they aren't that expensive either.
    I bought a set and paid like $20 for them.
     
  11. quahog convo

    quahog convo IDGAFOS OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    66,635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    GTX
    So when you boot up the comp, there's no option to boot using the recovery partition or anything like that?
     
  12. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    I think I have everything. I have Windows XP from my previous computer. And I have Windows Vista. (I guess just in case XP won't work) And I have a cd that says "Drivers and Utilities- Device Drivers, diagnostics and utilities."

    That's all I need right?
     
  13. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    I don't think so. :sad2:
     
  14. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    I downloaded that program to wipe everything and Vista wouldn't let me :hyper:
     
  15. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
  16. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I don't think you need to change anything in the bios.

    insert xp disk, reboot
    at boot, press F2 (or F12) and select boot to cd, then it will ask you to press any key
    at setup, delete and re-partition the drive, then install xp
     
  17. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    I've already done that and I can't get that far to delete anything.

    Glance at that thread for just a second. Everyone else is having the same problem and all the solutions everyone is suggesting makes absolutely no sense to me.
     
  18. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
  19. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    This is apparently what I'm supposed to do....


    In that case the inability to install XP is most likely related to AHCI mode
    SATA drivers (or more accurately the *lack* thereof). There are at least four
    solutions:

    1.) Change the SATA mode to turn off RAID or AHCI functionality, allowing
    the interface to be backwards compatible with PATA:
    <http://developer.intel.com/support/chipsets/imst/sb/cs-015988.htm>

    Then once XP w/SP2 is installed, you can then install the Windows SATA
    RAID/AHCI drivers (i.e. Intel Matrix Storage Manager
    <http://tinyurl.com/yv82ms>), and then restart and switch the SATA drives to
    AHCI mode in the BIOS Setup.

    2.) Install the SATA drivers via F6 (floppy) during install. Unfortunately
    this method requires a floppy drive and there can be problems during the
    transition to GUI mode with some chipsets: <http://tinyurl.com/3bgsgz>

    3.) Integrate the SATA drivers directly into the install CD. You can do this
    manually <http://developer.intel.com/support/chipsets/imst/sb/CS-020825.htm>
    or use automated tools like the DriverPacks <http://www.driverpacks.net> or
    Nlite <http://www.nliteos.com>.

    4.) Install a PATA primary master boot drive and install XP on that drive.
     
  20. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    I'll give this a try.
     
  21. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    There were SATA 0-5. 0,1,2 was on. I turned those off. The only thing I saw with Raid, I changed that option. I made the boot sequence to cd.

    Then I get this error... "no boot device available."
     
  22. zedekias

    zedekias Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    24,329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    And I'm wanting to switch back to XP because this is the 2nd time Vista has taken a major shit on me. You may say it's user error, but nothing like this has happened to me with XP. Computer would freeze up. And eventually I'd get the error "Failure - security options." I read that uninstalling Mcafee would fix the problem, but it only helped for a little while. Now my computer will sometimes just freeze up if I rick click my desktop.
     
  23. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    i'm not familiar with the XPS410's bios so bear with me

    turn on back the ones you disabled at SATA 0-5.
    find something that says "SATA Mode" or "SATA Operation" or "SATA Configuration"
    when you are there,.. look for anything that says "SATA/IDE" or "SATA/PATA"
    select that option, save and exit, reboot with the XP disk in the drive
     
  24. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    The recovery partitions can be like F11, but I don't think Dell gives the prompt for them even when one is loaded.
     
  25. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Even if the bios has ahci enable, wouldn't the XP install disc still start and just request the SATA drivers?

    :dunno:
     

Share This Page