i'm sure theres a way to do this; help plz

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Supreme Allah, Jul 17, 2003.

  1. Supreme Allah

    Supreme Allah The terrorists won.

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    9,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    i've got

    an old 833 mhz pII, with dvd player, burner, and all my porn/movies/music/etc

    a new 2.2 gig celeron w/only a cd player and my cable internet connection

    i want to be able to basically turn on either one or the other and use the same keyboard/mouse/monitor with them. i dont care too much about transferring data or anything. so i guess im looking for splitters for the basic equipment or something :dunno:
     
  2. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    Sounds like you want a 2-port KVM switch.
     
  3. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    It's a PIII by the way ;)
     
  4. yeah, you can get switches for keyboards/ monitors. I'm just not sure what they're called or where to find them :(

    try what skinjob said.
     
  5. crotchfruit

    crotchfruit Guest

  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    digital and analog - digital ones prevent the signal from ever being cut off (ie unplugged), where as analog simply switches between the two without worrying whether or not the signal between the device and the other computer is lost
     
  7. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I wish logitech would come out with a Special Edition of the Cordless Elite Duo (wireless mouse and keyboard set) that comes with two receivers, a receiver one and a receiver two. then the mouse and keyboard would both have a little switch or toggle button on them to switch between channel one and two.
     
  8. Supreme Allah

    Supreme Allah The terrorists won.

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    9,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am an elite hacker now

    Best Buy sells an adapter - iOGEAR - with cables for both computers, for $30 ($40 - $10 instant rebate). now i just press SCROLL LOCK twice to switch between the porn/music/movies cpu, and the internet/games/misc. cpu. no actual switches needed

    super awesomah
     
  9. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yup, I'm buying a KVM switch to do the same thing once I get my new machine... Sure is cheaper than buying a second mouse/keyboard/monitor.
     

Share This Page