GUN I'm no sniper lol

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by apman0000, Sep 12, 2009.

1. apman0000

apman0000 OT Supporter

I took my .243 to the range today to sight in the scope.
    here's 2 shots of the final few rounds today.
    I'm no sniper that's for sure, but i haven't shot a rifle (asside from my .22lr at pretty short range) for a long time.

this was from 150 yards, yeah not a long way but hey i'm still learning :)

same target, 2 shots, 1 is more clear and i wanted to show i wasn't covering a hole with my finger lol, used the finger to give size reference, pretty scientific huh

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. What position were you shooting from? If prone/sitting, were you using front and rear bags? What ammo were you using? What type of trigger are you running? What kind of barrel do you have?

3. hsmith

hsmith OT Supporter

you aren't a photographer either

4. apman0000

apman0000 OT Supporter

sitting, holding it with my hands, no bipod or sandbag or anything (used a block to rest the rifle barrel on while adjusting scope, then for these shots i held it free hand while sitting)

80 grain lead point winchester rounds

what ever trigger a old ass ithaca .243 came with

what ever barell an old ass ithaca .243 came with lol

yeah i suck, i don't know. i got the thing for under $100 with scope and sling :)

5. apman0000

apman0000 OT Supporter

shitty cell phone pics, i've done better work lol

6. For what you've described the groups aren't that bad.

7. apman0000

apman0000 OT Supporter

be gentle i haven't really shot a rifle for over a decade, the .22lr's don't count cause that was like 40-50 yards indoors

8. apman0000

apman0000 OT Supporter

9. apman0000

apman0000 OT Supporter

i wish i could have that one that was up and to the left back :(
    I've caught rifle fever now, probably gonna go thru .243 rounds like water for awhile lol

10. phrozenlikwid

phrozenlikwid New Member

Besides that one flier, you seem to have quite a bit of vertical dispersion.