Im new here...but not new to detailing and paint work

Discussion in 'That'll Buff Right Out' started by pl_silverado, Nov 10, 2007.

1. pl_silverado

pl_silverado OT Supporter

I just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Greg.

I recently detailed a couple cars out of boredom, 2 of which were my own, and one was a neighbors and realized that i missed doing this type of work. For the past few months i've been working in an office doing sales...god i hate it. Mobile detailing is not sounding too bad at the moment, as long as i can plan it correctly.

I have somewhat of a background.
    I've been working in a bodyshop since i was 12 years old, i've done every aspect of bodywork from structural repair to refinishing. I still do minor paint work on the side, but have recently decided to do more detailing. I know what a rotary can do to paint, and love 3m piII rubbing compound...especially the way a car looks after a fresh paint job, sanding, and buffing :drool:... so i know my way around a rotary.
    I expect to learn something new everyday, and i usually do. Up until a week ago i had no idea something like ONR exists...now i have a gallon on the way and some microfiber towels to try it out.

Lets see. The products i use are sort of limited at the moment. Off of the top of my head, heres a list of products currently in my detailing cabinet.

DW849 Rotary
    2 3M White Foam Compounding Pads
    2 3M Black Foam Polishing Pads
    3M Perfect-It II Rubbing Compound
    3M Perfect-It II Foam Polishing Pad Glaze - Dark
    3M Perfect-It II Foam Polishing Pad Glaze - Light
    3M Light Cut Compound
    3M Imperial Hand Glaze

Mothers 3 Phase, Cleaner, Sealant & Wax
    Mothers Carnauba Cleaner Wax
    Turtle Wax Ice Synthetic Wax (worked wonders on faded trim)
    Meguiars Gold Class Interior Wipes
    Some Leather Wipes
    Snap-on Quick Mist Detailer
    DuPont Teflon Tire Shine
    DuPont Teflon Tire Cleaner