I'm building a gaming computer *specs inside*

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by hootpie, Jun 21, 2005.

  1. hootpie

    hootpie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    35,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0GHz 512KB Socket 939 CPU - Stepping E3 $195.00
    Antec Sonata II Mid Tower ATX w/ 450W ATX12V PSU (Black) $112.50
    Abit AN8 nForce4 Socket 939 ATX Audio/GbLAN/SATA/1394 $121.95
    Kingston HyperX 1GB KIT DDR400 PC3200 CL2 (2-3-2) DIMM $167.25
    WD Raptor 36.7GB 10K RPM 8MB Buffer SATA HDD (Drive Only) $122.00
    Sony DWD-26A 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive (Black/OEM) $63.50

    $842.82



    What do you guys think of these specs? What video card should I go for with a budget of <$300. I'm also going to pick up a 2001fp(w) from Dell next time they have a sale.

    Edit: Is they HyperX memory worth the extra ~$80?

    Edit #2: This is a gaming computer (CS:S and BF2).

    Edit #3: For the video card, PCI-X16 or AGP 8X?
     
  2. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks pretty good to me bud, you will love that raptor drive, you'll see how quickly it defrags :naughty:

    I have the same case as you also and its pretty sweet, and very quiet.

    Video card wise you can go with a 6600GT, pretty much the best bang for buck card out right now. As for PCI-X or AGP, you'll be ok with either standard for a couple of years to come, i don;t see either of them getting wiped out or bumped out by anything else. Just don't get SLI.
     
  3. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I'd ditch the hyperX and get corsair RAM, especially with the nforce chipset.
     
  4. Jay

    Jay My shit don't stink

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    36,746
    Likes Received:
    2
    1: no, HyperX is not worh the extra $80. bandwith means nothing to an A64, and timings aren't significant. you can go cheap, just don't go too cheap.
    2: BF2 >>> CS:S
    3: might as well go with PCI-X, and just under $300 is an x800xl
     
  5. Spaawn7

    Spaawn7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N. California
    Please, get a 6800. Much better card.
     
  6. hootpie

    hootpie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    35,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    I'm hearing that the X800XL is better than the 6800 (GT?)
     
  7. Jay

    Jay My shit don't stink

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    36,746
    Likes Received:
    2
    http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=917047
    timings are NOT significant.


    as for bandwith, perhaps I shouldn't have been so blunt as saying "bandwith means nothing..."
    A64's have a built in memory clock, which means that there is no asynch bullshit which means a pc3200 stick can OC the same amount as a pc4000 stick. to OC an A64 it is perfectly FINE to run a divder. but of course you already knew that from reading anandtech. so, HyperX is NOT worth the extra $80. .
    RAW mhz on an A64 >>>>>> memory bandwith. you can browse both the AMDMB forums and the Hardforums and check what kind of memory these guys are using and their OC are still unbelievably high. if you look closely, you can see alot of regretful posts from people who bought TCCD memory



    edit: and I apologize on the terminology of PCI-X and PCI-E. but I never said he can get whatever mobo he wants and then decide if he wasts AGP or PCI-E.

    ignorant? perhaps a little on the newest gpu and gpu slots since I have a 6800gt agp and have kept that since i upgraded to an a64 Venice so my research on gpu topics were less motivated ;)
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2005
  8. Jay

    Jay My shit don't stink

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    36,746
    Likes Received:
    2
  9. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Ignorant much? Bandwidth means very little to an A64 system compared to P4 or Athlon XP. Sure going with PC4800 will get an increase but definately not worth the money. The money could go to a better videocard or cpu, which will make the biggest difference in performance.
     
  10. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can

    I meant with a 1:1 ratio, sorry for not being so precise :ugh2:

    I agree with you that having tigher timings play a great deal with performance, however bandwidth on an A64 system does not. You say your 3500+ beats an FX-55 in performance and i don't doubt that, however have you ever tried running @ 2.6GHz, but with a divider so that the memory is @ ~200? I bet that the performance of the rig won't be that different. Sure some, but not a whole hell of a lot.

    I'm not saying that good ram isn't worth it either as i own 2X512 of OCZ PC3200 VX (kept @ 2-2-2-11X250) which I paid $250 for. However i don't own an A64 system, would of paid so much for ram if I bought one? Probably not.
     
  11. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    am i reading this right, that hdd is only 37.6 gb....?
     
  12. hootpie

    hootpie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    35,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    36.7 actually. I don't need that much HD space and that HD is FAST.
     
  13. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    hmm i got around 300 gigs of space and i have around 10 gigs left, about 85% of the space i have filled is with games, not all pc though.
     
  14. hootpie

    hootpie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    35,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    :eek3:

    I tend to keep only the things I need on my hard drive. My entire music collection is about 1.1gigs and anything I need to keep, but don't use daily I burn to DVD's/CD's.
     
  15. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    yea i got 4000+ mp3s. kind of a collection, takes up a good 20 gigs of space. id hate to lose it all though, thatd suck.
     
  16. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    the 'hard drive' i plan on purchasing in the next few months will be ~$350 for 4GB :hs:
     
  17. hootpie

    hootpie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    35,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    RAM drive?
     
  18. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can

    yes...
     
  19. hootpie

    hootpie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    35,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    :rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

    The reason they call it an Athlon 3200+ 64 2.0ghz is because it performs the same, if not better, than a P4 rated at 3200mhz aka 3.2ghz. Also, Athlon processors are better for gaming than their P4 counterparts.
     
  20. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can

    :ugh: please go get banned again. Why' do you comment if oviously you have no idea wtf you are talking about?
     
  21. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can

    :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:


    fuck you're dumb.
     
  22. jag6984

    jag6984 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rio De Janeiro
    You can't be serious...there is much more to a processor than purely clockspeed. Such as how many operations a processor can do in a single cycle.
     
  23. galek_spoo

    galek_spoo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5,417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Del Valle, TX
    just shut up. you don't have any clue as to what you are trying to argue.
     
  24. jag6984

    jag6984 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rio De Janeiro
    No. Mhz = Megahertz = cycles per second. Go google it up if you don't believe me. Operations are different.
     
  25. Under_Fire

    Under_Fire Duck and Run

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The good life
    :eek4::rofl::bowrofl:
     

Share This Page