SRS I'm becoming an alcoholic

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by schmitty101, Mar 17, 2010.

1. schmitty101

schmitty101 You might remember me from such films as "Dig your

I don't even know how to start this post. I've been posting the same bullshit problems here for 6 years and some of you won't even listen to me anymore.

I'm starting to take things to the next level. I'm drinking alone in my room at nights now. When I get home from school I lock myself in my room and crack open a case of beer that I have under my bed. Alcohol allows me to escape and forget about my problems. For the few hours that I am drinking, I am pretty happy and optimistic about the way my life will turn out. My mood gets elevated and suddenly my life doesn't seem so bad. The next morning I'm back to being myself.....lonely, angry, insecure, frustrated, and resenting my family for turning me into a monster. By noon I am usually eager to start drinking again because I just can't face reality anymore....my life is just too depressing.

This morning I looked around online for some free/cheap therapists but didn't have any luck. In case anyone wants to help me out I live in Lake County, IL.

My depression has gotten worse since the weather has improved because it only reminds me of how i'm missing more opportunities to go out and enjoy life. I think of friends, memories, fun, and all the good times that I won't experience and it makes me sick to my stomach (I almost puke sometimes).

What am I to do? The community college counselors already told me that my problems are beyond their scope of practice. They told me I need a professional psychologist/psychiatrist and I can't afford one. They have some sort of program for discounted insurance for students which I will look into, but I don't think I will be able to afford that either.