SRS I'm a commuter student :(

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Sure why not?, Aug 27, 2009.

1. Sure why not?

Sure why not? New Member

started college, lived on campus away from home and had a blast. But I had no idea what i wanted to study. Took 2 years off from school to work and figure things out. Now I have transfered to the state school 10 mins from my parents home, and picked a major I'm passionate about. But my problem is I will be living at home with my parents since we can't afford room and board. (both of my parents' jobs have been effected by the recession.)

How do I have a social life with kids in college my age who are constantly at the dorms? How do I develop and maintain this social life without feeling like I'm out of the loop. Missing those spontanious trips to get fast food at 2am, going to parties and hooking up with chicks? and all the drinking?! essentiall, I just want to have the complete college experience and not be antisocial. I know nobody at this college now since I'm 2 years behind anyone my age and this school is new to me.

Any advice from anyone who has been in my position before?

2. Pepe

Pepe New Member

it is hard commuting, i did it for the last 2 years of my undergrad. you just have to meet people any way possible. volunteer for some groups/clubs on campus, work in class groups with people you most likely will get along with, ask people whats going on during the weekend, go to sports events (football tailgate is HUGE for meeting people), shit like that.

i'm not gonna lie, it isn't easy, i know i would have had a much better time had i lived on campus, but i still made some great friends, had some good times, but my grades are much higher than had i lived the college lifestyle. best of luck man.

3. Phantom

Phantom Active Member

All of life is what you make out of it. Circumstances will never be perfect. If you were in the dorms, you would complain that you are on the wrong floor, or don't have enough money etc.