SRS I'm a big, blubbering vagina and it's making me miserable...

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by surrender, Sep 21, 2009.

1. surrender

surrender [ON MEDS]

...even though I should be the happiest I've ever been, and I know it. Warning: massive wall of text ahead

I'm currently a first-year student at my first choice graduate program, and I'm having a great time so far. My classes are as interesting as I expected, and I'm doing quite well grade-wise (so far). After a middling undergrad experience, where I only participated in one noteworthy activity, I've been involved in multiple student organizations and participated in multiple intramural sports. As far as I know, I'm well liked by my peers, and have even been asked by the upperclassmen to set up some events to increase social participation for the incoming class.

I guess this is where I should mention that I'm a massive introvert. I'm 24 years old, and I've never been in a relationship. I've been diagnosed with dysthymia (chronic mild depression) and social anxiety, and I was fully depressed throughout most of my undergrad career, which really killed my social development. With help from a psychologist, I overcame my depression and the worst parts of the social anxiety; I've since had occasions when I felt down, but the feelings typically subside after a day or two. Getting into grad school was a huge lifeline for me, and I've been determined to make the most of it, so I've pretty much forced myself to "fake it" and act extremely social; I chat with my classmates before and after class, never miss a social event, and participate in a bunch of activities. I still need my personal time, like any good introvert, but I've made an impression as a talkative and very outgoing person.

Yet, since moving here a month ago, I had been completely happy until these past few days. It's girl issues, but at the same time, it's really not - it's more frustration with the fact that I have no sack.