If you got .mkv to stream to your 360 via TVersity, click me

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by HipHopHead, Aug 12, 2009.

  1. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,398
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    What version of TVersity and post up a screen of your transcode settings.

    [​IMG]

    My 360 sees it fine and can stream xvid/mp3/etc but I can't get it to transcode no matter what settings I mess around with. If I go to the status screen it shows it starts to transcode but does not get past 0%. I tried PS3MediaServer and it works but it's pretty limited with the 360 as of now (mainly no ff/rewind, only stereo sound).

    My PC is a Q6600 with 3 gigs ram and a wired connection so should be plenty fast.
     
  2. Alvin

    Alvin New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    26,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    Honestly your problem is most likely the codecs installed on your computer.


    Make sure you have Haali Media Splitter and ffdshow. Also make sure Haali is the defualt cabin or pack opener for mkvs within FFDShow. If you can't directly open the .mkv in Windows Media Player it will not transcode in TVersity.

    I don't even waste my time with TVersity, I just use GotSent and do it that way. TVersity works, I just don't like it :dunno:
     
  3. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,398
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I have ffdshow and yes, I can directly open in WMP. Never heard of Haali, I'll look into it.
     
  4. somethingstrang

    somethingstrang Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    didnt know you can watch mkv that way :bowdown: made my day
     
  5. FunkyMunniez

    FunkyMunniez Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,919
    Likes Received:
    2
    use ps3 media server. then you dont have to fuck around with tversity :bowdown:
     
  6. GhostRidah

    GhostRidah Call Kenny Loggins because you're in the danger zo

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    13,073
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,398
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    too limited right now.
     
  8. Twinsen

    Twinsen OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    55,698
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    So you CAN stream .mkv with TVersity?
     
  9. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,398
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Not me personally but supposedly it is possible.
     
  10. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,398
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Whoa, got it to work. :eek3:
    • install without TVersity codec pack and set as a service.
    • Go to Start > Run > type “services.msc” to bring up the services window.
    • Scroll down to UPnP Device Host and make sure it’s set to Automatic.
    • Scroll down to TVersity Media Server, double click to open it’s Properties.
    • You can set to Automatic or Manual. (i have mine set to manual)
    • At “Log On” tab, click Browse > Advanced > Find Now and pick your account
    • Make sure it’s set to an account (mine’s called Administrator) on the computer as shown in the picture.
    [​IMG]

    Main thing I did there was make the service run under a specific user account. Make sure you stop/restart the service after you apply the changes.
     
  11. Twinsen

    Twinsen OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    55,698
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Interesting, although I think I'll still just use my PC, since I'm right next to it anyway.
     
  12. Jaron95

    Jaron95 "Gattai" dattou?!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    32,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
    I do it like everyday. I haven't watched mkv's on my PC in months. :o

    Changing the TVersity service to logon with a user account helps a lot.
     
  13. GhostRidah

    GhostRidah Call Kenny Loggins because you're in the danger zo

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    13,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyway to play mkv file with subs? I get them to play but the subs dont show
     
  14. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,398
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    have not tried but look in the ffdshow settings. I know there are some sub options in there.
    Play a mkv in WMP and the ffdshow icon should be down in your systray.
     

Share This Page