If I leave an amp ON without signal, does it still draw power?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by FyreDaug, Feb 28, 2006.

  1. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    And when I saw draw power, I mean something I will notice on my power bill, the way my 5.1 is setup, the sub amp is pretty much always on, unless I reach behind the couch and physically hit the button. If its not getting any signal does it still draw the 140w rms? Its in my apartment so it doesnt have to be loud, just want to be able to get some lows still. Im no electrical genius, help a bruthah out
     
  2. amill94

    amill94 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    31,262
    Likes Received:
    361
    umm doesn't it have an auto switch? It will go to standby after 10-15mins of no signal, then turn on automatically when you need it.
     
  3. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    No, because the way my system is wired up, is I have MB Quart car speakers as my fronts, a B&W speaker for a center channel, and 2 speakers in the rear. The rear speakers have high and low inputs with 3 speakers. 3" speaker and 1" tweet off the highs, which are powered by my big home theater amp. THe sub out splits into 2 rca's (only 1 rca out) so I can have both inputs on the back of this amp, which is actually a boombox amp. JVC Gigatube or something. And I only power the lows off of that. So I still get 5.1 off the amp (optical signal in from audigy2zs) and have the .1 subout be powered aswell. Technically I have 2 front speakers, 2 rear, 1 center and 2 subs. They are 8" bass drivers I think

    EDIT: The MBQ's sound awesome in boxes for a HT system :big grin: (Y)
     
  4. Junkie

    Junkie re-tarded OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    23,454
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    Alameda, CA
    even if it doesn't auto shut off, it won't draw anywhere near its rated power. however, at full load it will draw considerably more than RMS, which is why the amp gets warm.
     
  5. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    ok, so amp on + no signal = 0 watts?
     
  6. Soulfire

    Soulfire No Pain, No Gain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8,983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AAAAAAeeeeeeeeeeee
    Pretty much. Amps don't draw shit if you leave them on.
     
  7. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Good enough for me
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    It won't draw very much watts, but it will draw some.
    I don't know what kind of amp they are putting inside
    those subs, but if it's a class a/b amp, you would see
    a difference over the course of a year on your electricity bill.
     
  9. ngsm13

    ngsm13 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    What the fuck do you think dipshit? Seriously.

    Power is DYNAMIC according to music, even when it is on AND playing... it still doesn't produce 140rms 24/7 while it is PLAYING.
     
  10. FyreDaug

    FyreDaug lolswift

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    ive had enough of you, il+1... congrats on being the first fuckwit. Go fuck yourself
     
  11. ngsm13

    ngsm13 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    You are an imbicile. Plain and simple.

    Go drink some weenerade.
     
  12. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    It cracks me up to see a douchbag like you try to push people around
    for a simple question.

    Have you ever heard of a class A amp?
    Tell me what you know about the wattage consumption of
    a class A amp.

    I'll give you plenty of time to google the answer.

    Check back here when you have it, kthx.
     
  13. ngsm13

    ngsm13 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    They're still all dynamic.

    /story
     
  14. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Class A amps use pretty much full power at all times.
    That's why class A/B amps were developed.

    The class A section may only work up to 5 watts or so,
    but at any output up to their maximum rating, they are using
    the full 5 watts.

    When they hit the class B stage, they are completely variable
    depending on the demands of the source signal.

    With a decent efficiency speaker, the average listener doesn't go
    past the class A section very often, so the general sound quality
    is better than the person might otherwise be able to afford.
    (Class A amps are generally a lot more expensive)







    .
     
  15. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Thanks for explaining class A amps, I was about to comment on them. I'm surprised ngsm13 hasn't been banned yet. Very poor fellowship.
     
  16. ngsm13

    ngsm13 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    /yourself.
     
  17. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Perfect example. Have a nice a day, because I don't think you've had many lately.
     

Share This Page