If i am taking a univeristy Bach. Degree in IT management..

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by kenzo, Jul 4, 2006.

1. kenzo

kenzo New Member

i just finished 1st year. However i have limited knowledge in computers. Should i get cerfications such as A+?
    i am interested in Network and security. However i need the basic knowledge 1st right?
    I do know much about computers, but not sure if it surpasses A+ requirements.

2. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

A+ is a good start, if you aren't an independant learner. Because lets be clear about one thing: without technical knowledge, you can NEVER be a good IT manager. EVER. Its a rule.

3. kenzo

kenzo New Member

Just wondering, when u buy those books, how do u know where and when to take the exam?

4. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

I don't know. I've never done a cert. I assume its in the book.

Or... look at the sticky up top. http://certification.comptia.org/a/

5. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

Don't we have a sticky thread regarding certifications?

6. EagerZeroedThick

EagerZeroedThick New Member

IT Manager with no technical knowledge, sounds like you'll fit in great!

7. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

Its true. I would like to reiterate that there is no such thing as a competent 'project manager' without technical skills.

8. SLED

SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

do yourself a favor and learn the technical side of things. There is nothing more annoying than somebody who only THINKS they know what they are talking about. There is a hardware/helpdesk manager at one of my my on-site clients who doesn't even know what RAID5 is. Yet she is the one who orders equipment. Bascially her employees run the whole department, and she takes all of the credit and attends the management meetings. Worthless. No wonder everything is f'd up over here.

9. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member