if i add a gigabit switch to my router, would i notice a speed increase?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dorkultra, Sep 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    the setup goes as follows:
    router would have a cat 6 connected to the gigabit switch, it would provide dhcp and a gateway, also wifi. my desktop and server would be connected with cat 6 to the gigabit switch. both would have gigabit cards.

    would i notice much of an increase in speed, compared to 100 mbps cat 5e?

    also, adding a switch to a router, in my config would work, correct?
     
  2. Boing

    Boing OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    58,797
    Likes Received:
    143
    Only if your router is gigabit capable.
     
  3. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    you may see a small increase if you're doing a lot of large file transfers back and forth between the 2 systems, but for the most part, not worth the money.
    Don't forget, any system is only as fast as the slowest component, and in almost all computers, that's the hard drive.
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Assuming you have your router positioned properly (i.e. sitting between the cable/DSL modem and the rest of your network), then any data that passes through your router will be restricted to 100Mb/s. You could, conceivably, set up your network so that the router connects your modem to a gigabit switch, and then branch all your machines off the switch, thus using the router only to identify routing paths and to pass data out to the internet. Every transfer from one machine to another would be able to use the switch exclusively, because all of your machines would just download the routing paths from the router when they boot up, and they wouldn't have to go back and ask how to transfer every single packet to its destination, so the machine-to-machine transfer speed would be restricted by the switch and the Cat5e cabling instead of by the router.

    But, it would be more efficient to just buy a gigabit router to start with.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    assuming you do large intra-network transfers, gigabit will help. If you do mostly inter-network transfers, then no.
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    When I looked at our utilization our gig switch, a gig to gig transfer from one U320 drive on one server, to another u320 drive on another server it hit 25% which is 2.5 times faster than what a 100 Mbps switch would be capable off. But I've never seen it max out on any one port.
     
  7. DaIceMan

    DaIceMan Jack Bauer > *.*

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield-ish, Missouri
    For standard transfers, game patches, mp3s, etc... I don't really notice a difference. When I really notice the difference is when I move movie files from my machine I rip with to the file server. Both gigabit, both with seagate 7200rpm, 8mb cache drives.
     
  8. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    thats exactly how i would set it up. the router would only provide gateway access and dhcp

    i would be moving isos, xvids, and video_ts folders. i'm guessing i would see an increase.

    obviously getting a gigabit router would be a better idea, but a switch could perform just as well, considering that most routers are just switches with added functions.
     
  9. netcrusher88

    netcrusher88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure what desuexaethera is getting at, but it sounds like a lot of work with no real point. Put the switch on the LAN side of the router, plug both PCs into the switch. Transfers between them will speed up. Plug the router right into your modem. The bottleneck in your internet access is your internet, not your switch or router. Never put a switch and PCs on the WAN/Internet side of a home router, or plug in the home router backwards so it serves dhcp that way. You may (read: probably will) cause problems.

    EDIT:
    The majority of his post confused me... the first part is exactly right.

    modem<->router<->switch<->PCs
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2007
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    That's what he did say to do... but it was confusing - I had to read it twice myself.
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was explaining why it would be faster for intra-network transfers and not for internet transfers. The why usually goes over a lot of people's heads.
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes, it often goes over YOUR head.
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I love how you talk just enough trash to distract everyone from noticing that you didn't actually contribute anything to the conversation.

    Go have some more pot roast.
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    English must not be your first language, because you obviously have some difficulty reading. My first post (#5 in this thread) addresses his concern in a simple, direct manner.
     
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it does. It also assumes that the OP understands why it will work that way, which, given that he's asking the question in the first place, is unlikely.
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    a) it doesn't matter if he understands it; he only needs to accept it.

    b) you are not the person to help him understand it.
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    a) That is your opinion.

    b) That is also your opinion.

    In neither case do I agree with your opinion. It's been my experience that people appreciate, and benefit from, knowing why things are the way they are, with a rare exception whom I usually write off as unsalvageable.
     
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    You lack proper grasp of most topics that you attempt to lecture on. Therefore you are the problem, and your attempts to help actually further increase ignorance.
     
  19. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Why must you 2 turn every thread in this forum to shit?? Give it a rest...
     
  20. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    why does your usertext remind me of the front of a jeep?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page