IE7 Q&A + Faq

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by deusexaethera, Nov 6, 2006.

  1. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's pretty obvious at this point that C&P is going to get bombarded with questions about how do make IE7 bearable and usable, so can we get a sticky thread to store all the tips and tricks we come up with, so we can legitimately tell people to "go read the sticky" and be done with it? Thanks.

    Here's my first donation:

    Tip #1: Run Microsoft Update, uncheck the checkbox next to IE7, and check the checkbox that says "Don't show this update again". This will eliminate the vast majority of IE7 compatibility problems.
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    They could always seach, ya know... but it may be a good idea.

    However, I have zero issues with IE7.
     
  3. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    good point. Been a lot of IE7 questions lately
     
  4. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Us noobs can't.
     
  5. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204

    Then buy a sub and support the site.
     
  6. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    It'll never happen.

    edit: ok that sounds stingy, but a site like this is about the last place that needs my (financial) support (not that anyone at this stage gets it, heh)
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2006
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tip #2:

    If you're going to use IE7 anyway, and you want to get the menu bar up at the top of the window like it should be, you can copy this text into Notepad and save the file with a ".REG" extension, then double-click the file and allow the entry to be copied into the Registry on your computer.

    Code:
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar\WebBrowser]
    "ITBar7Position"=dword:00000001
    Also, having the menu bar at the top will let you put other toolbars all the way at the top, next to the menus. These two slight enhancements made IE7 much more bearable, in my opinion.
     
  8. Furner

    Furner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    anyone who uses blackboard for school should stay away from IE7. causes nothing but problems
     
  9. GlocksRock

    GlocksRock Glock > You

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    didn't work for me
     
  10. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    nope.

    sure, menu bar is at top, but you can't put the rest of them up there
     
  11. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    NO history button
    NO "go" button (it's handy sometimes)
    NO stop button
    NO reload button
    NO putting toolbars where *I* want them

    NO use IE7
     
  12. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I have go, stop, and reload buttons. When a page is loaded, the reload and stop buttons are to the right of the address bar. The reload button turns to a "go" button when you start typing a URL.
     
  13. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    just try and move those buttons to where you want, and have them show all the time


    won't happen
     
  14. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    As far as I know, they have been there since I installed IE7. I have no reason to move them or if I even can. BTW, the history button is a down arrow next to the forward button.
     
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Really? I wonder if they tweaked the app to keep all the bars dedicated to a single use. They would do that, wouldn't they -- just ignore the past ten years of user-interface development and say "no, you're going to do it OUR way."

    What a bunch of fucktards.
     
  16. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    exactly

    i installed it, spent 15 min trying to make it look like i want, even used regedit, and promptly uninstalled it
     
  17. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    This stuff I'm reading is most of what worries me about Vista.

    I hate that it's going to be that much of a pain in the neck to work with.

    And the fockers didn't even put the new file system in there.

    :rant2:
     
  18. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Curious why this is a sticky.
     
  19. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Well, while I think that it [the address bar] should be movable, it does look more "natural" where it is in Vista than it does in XP:

    [​IMG]
     
  20. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Holy toolbars batman
     
  21. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, that's probably the thing that pisses me off most about IE7; every toolbar has to have its own row. I want to have my Google Toolbar share a row with the menu bar, and I want to have my Nav buttons share a row with the address bar. I could stand to have the address bar on its own row and put the menus, the Nav buttons, and the Google Toolbar all on the second row, but I can't even do that. There's gotta be a way to make the address bar secure and permanently visible without affecting all the rest of the toolbars.
     
  22. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    You can't do it with the address bar or the tools bar (or whatever that is next to the tabs) but you can do it with about any other one. For example I can stack the links, roboform, and google toolbars on one row if I wanted to.

    Edit: for example you can (edited to correct that) put the menu bar and the google toolbar on the same row.

    edit: You do know you have to unlock the toolbars before you can move them, right? Right-click select and uncheck Lock the Toolbars. Everything you ask for is possible. The nav buttons (except for home) already share the row with the address bar. Everything else (except the buttons next to the tabs, which don't take up a row since they are, well, next to the tabs) can be moved around and can share a row.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2006
  23. Hairy Gorilla

    Hairy Gorilla New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Yeah I don't understand all of the complaints. It seems like everything can be customized. Why all the whining?
     
  24. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    make IE7 look like this, with the tabs bar under these, and i *might* go back to it

    [​IMG]

    otherwise, ie7 can suck it
     
  25. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Because it's a MS product so it's the hip thing to do.
     

Share This Page