ie7 install help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dissonance, Nov 10, 2006.

  1. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    hey, i've read the sticky and looked through microsofts support page and attempted all the articles. I cannot install ie7. I am current on all updates except for my wireless card (i like older version, but thats beside the point). I have turned off all anti virus/spyware/firewall/etc. I closed all unnecessary progs in the task manager (i think i got em all) and had nothing else open. I have tried it with the malicious software box checked and not checked. It sits on this screen for awhile (~5min):
    [​IMG]
    after this it states that the install could not complete and i must restart to undo anything it has done. any ideas???
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Skip it. It's not ready for public use yet.
     
  3. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    is it still a beta version????
     
  4. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Do you have any 3rd party toolbars installed on IE? I did a job last week where someone had installed IE7 but it would hang trying to connected to the start page. I'd have to kill it in task manager. It turned out that Yahoo toolbar was screwing it up.
     
  5. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    No, it's not beta anymore.

    Are you trying to get this from Windows update? Try downloading it from the Microsoft site.
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Also, if you are trying to install it from the website, try downloading it instead to your desktop and run it from there.
     
  7. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    the only add-ons i have in ie6 are FlashGet 1.72 and Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Pro
    here is a screen of the window:
    [​IMG]


    and here is a screen of the 'manage add-ons' menu:

    disabled
    [​IMG]

    active
    [​IMG]

    well, after looking at that i guess there are more in there than i thought. How do i delete without fucking up the prog and not just disabling? but at the same time, i have 'end task'ed everything in the task manager before installing that i didn't think was necessary...

    i have tried it every way i can think. I have downloaded it to my hd a couple of times, i have just opened it a couple times (deleting temp files between tries), i have tried from the website as well as microsoft update.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2006
  8. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    could it be my uxtheme.dll???
     
  9. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Could be. I would uninstall every toolbar, plug-in, BHO, etc that messes with IE in any way and retry. All it takes is one incompatible program to mess things up.
     
  10. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Man, I've been seeing so many of these issues come up that it makes me glad that I didn't risk it.

    I had just done a reformat about a week before it got offered as an update, and I just didn't want to chance it.
     
  11. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Right after a reformat is the best time to do it. Before any crap gets into your system and causes problems for the upgrade.
     
  12. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    A properly-constructed upgrade would look for problems first, or at the very least it would disable anything that could cause a problem.
     
  13. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Yeah right. Maybe in IE10 if we're lucky.
     
  14. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    ehh, i think i'll just go without it for awhile
     

Share This Page