ie scripting crashes windows?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by crotchfruit, Jun 19, 2003.

  1. crotchfruit

    crotchfruit Guest

    hi all..

    we installed win98 and win2000 on a new cpu board we're building, and for some reason any webpage with javascript enabled seems to be crashing windows (no blue screen, just entire system lockup.)

    we've deduced this by:

    - disabling 'active scripting' (which is not activex) in security settings
    - going to any javascript/otherscript page
    - no problem.. except for scripting functions don't work
    - enabling active scripting in security settings
    - going to same page
    - windows crashes completely.

    this is reproducable every time.

    happens in both win98 and win2000 (very weird!)

    we suspect that it's a hardware conflict.. but what conflicts with *only* scripting in ie?!
     
  2. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    :dunno: might just be a weird symptom of bad memory
     
  3. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    what version of js? could be a version error or some sort of infinate loop.

    does it work on other systems?
     
  4. crotchfruit

    crotchfruit Guest

    i will suggest running a memtest overnight..

    the js works fine on other systems. i'm talking about any js page.. like yahoo mail. it all crashes the system in both win98 and win2000 partitions... it's the same bug in both unrelated OSes that is so weird.. never seen that before (which is why we suspect hardware.. but what hardware conflicts w/ js.. memory, like mugatu said, but what else???)
     
  5. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    got an extra stick of ram? just to eliminate ram swap it.

    maybe clean out the case? maybe dirty inside. the psu may even be dirty. ive seen the psu do some fucked up things.

    do u have error logs turned on (for 2k)?
     
  6. what version of IE?
     
  7. crotchfruit

    crotchfruit Guest

    unfortunately it's not as easy as that. it's a new SBC we're developing and the tiny ram modules are soldered onto the board :( also, we're not using a standard pc psu for development, it's an industrial psu - and the board itself only uses 10W.. but hey, it *could* be the psu :p

    IE6 on win2k, whichever IE comes w/ win98.

    we're gonna try a fresh reinstall on another drive..
     
  8. so two different IEs on two different OSes ... that's pretty f-d. flakey RAM or an inherent board flaw ... :dunno:
     

Share This Page