IDE HDD stuck in PIO mode

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by HipHopHead, Feb 27, 2009.

  1. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,395
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I have a Seagate ST3160023A that is the master (boot) drive on my mobos primary IDE chan. I have 2 drives on this same IDE chan and the slave drive is good (UDMA 5). Both drives show up as UDMA 5 in the bios but in XP Pro it show this:

    [​IMG]

    Manual says this:
    It's an 80 conductor cable I am using. Any ideas?
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2009
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Three ideas:

    1. Replace the cable.
    2. Move the pair of drives to the other IDE channel.
    3. If the drive is failing, it could be switching to PIO mode to keep the controller from wondering why the fuck its data requests are taking so long to process.
     
  3. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,395
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I'll try those. Easy enough. Does the jumper have any effect on that? Think they are both set to cable select right now.
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's fine. As long as they are both Cable Select or both Master/Slave.
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    As a quick test, you can unplug the slave to ensure it's not causing any issues.
     
  6. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    This would be my first guess.
     
  7. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,395
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Switched the HDD's to the secondary chan and the DVD's to the primary and it's all good now.
     

Share This Page