ichat and AIM away messages

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by FINALBOSS, Nov 29, 2006.

  1. FINALBOSS

    FINALBOSS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    64,920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Paris
    so im logged into aim on ichat...put on an away message...and when i im myself using another screen name on my windows pc...it doesn't reply with the away message.

    what gives?

    /macnewbie :hsugh:
     
  2. alverino03

    alverino03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    4,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    bay area
    Why are you messaging yourself? :hsugh: Anyway, iChat is like that. As is Adium.
     
  3. FINALBOSS

    FINALBOSS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    64,920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Paris
    im new to macs...and i was testing to see if my away message was working. ichat lists me as away but when people im me it doesnt reply with the away message :wtc:
     
  4. moonie

    moonie u want a FRANKYUM?

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    just d/l mac aim
     
  5. FINALBOSS

    FINALBOSS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    64,920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Paris
    ya might as well
     
  6. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    mac AIM blows, it hasn't been updated in about 2 years (at least).

    ichat unfortunately isn't any better (unless you want to use audio/video chat), then its awesome.

    I'd recommend using adium. its extremely custumizeable (if thats a word), and the away messages on there seem to work well for me. give it a look.

    www.adiumx.com
     

Share This Page