iBook Vs. Powerbook

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by itsallaboutvegas, Mar 7, 2005.

1. itsallaboutvegas

itsallaboutvegas New Member

Hi all just have a question. I am very adamant about purchasing a laptop very soon. I just have a few concerns....I am in a bind between the ibook and the powerbook. I am a business student and have no use for graphics and arts; I am just looking for something that can help me in everyday business applications, surfing the web, word documents, watching movies, etc. I love the look of the powerbooks, they are so neat yet so expensive. I have my eyes set on a basic 12" ibook, but am wondering if spending that extra few hundrerd dollars would be worth getting the powerbook. Can someone please outline the unobvious differences. I have never owned a laptop before and don't want to buy the ibook, spend a grand and then be limited to many things the powerbook could easily do. I stumbled upon this forum and it seems quite helpful, so please help me in this dilemma.

Thankyou

2. tenplanescrashing

tenplanescrashing Active Member

for the lack of a better explaination, the powerbook is more powerful in processing than the ibook. again, i don't have much to back that up except that my ex's g3 ibook (approx. 750mhz) was slower in individual processing than my g3 powerbook (400mhz).

3. Yah, anmd my g4 powerbook is faster then my old g3 ibook. i think they use beter procesing aplications and the like in hte g4s and powerbooks

4. TurboDerek

TurboDerek My favorite meal is horsemeat and rice.

go with a 15" powerbook the larger screen and higher resolution. you will be able to view more content on a web page or as you are writing a documnet

5. sophos

sophos Guest

If that's all you're gonna be doing with your laptop, then get an iBook and save a few hundred bucks.

6. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

ibook == flimsy construction

pbook == strong construction