I wish I had a Pocket PC 2002...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by CompiledMonkey, May 28, 2003.

  1. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Just because VS.NET 2003 makes it soooo easy to write apps for them. I'd like to have one just to do simple stuff with. The :cool: ness factor is nice, but they cost too much still. :sad2:
     
  2. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    yeah that would be nice.

    im still working on writing apps for my palm m500 (os4.1)
     
  3. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    If it makes you feel better, the PocketPCs still have some funky memory leaks...
     
  4. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    hehe good point.

    yeah my buddy gets some fucked errors all the time. you can tell when he gets them cause in class he starts freaking out. :rofl:
     
  5. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Hehe. In all seriousness, it really does make me feel better. :bigthumb:
     
  6. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  7. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Describe what you are looking for. I'm kinda busy, but I might be able to help you out.
     
  8. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I basically need an APP or script of some type that will give me est. shipping rates that correlate with the respective shipping zones and weights.

    Screen one: End-user enters ship-from zip.

    Screen two: End-user enters ship-to zip and weight.
    The program will compare the ship-to to a database and find the ship-to zone. Will cross the zone # and the weight in a seperate table and output the est freight cost.

    Screen three: The software will output the freight cost.

    That's all I need so far. I would like to add more options later.. like cost of UPS RED, UPS BLUE, and UPS ORANGE.

    UPS does not have anything like this (other then their online service) and I would like to implement this in my warehouse where we don't have internet connection. A few people from UPS have shown interest in said program, however. When I called and asked about it, they laughed. I told them that I would write it, and then they called me back and said that they'd like to see the finished product.

    The other app I needed was a UTS60 emulator that would run on an ARM processor. We use QTerm (www.qw.com) on our regular machines to connect to a UTS60 Unisys mainframe over TCP. I want to be able to do the same thing on the PPC. I realize that this is a far more advanced program, but I contacted QTerm and they have only made this program for the Palm platform and have no plans to make it for the PPC. You could create this and seriously own this niche. I know I NEED this for inventory.. and if it would even be possible to incorporate this over winsock so that I could WAN it and access it when I'm out of the office, that'd be even cooler...

    Your thoughts?
     
  9. Mikel

    Mikel .

    Joined:
    May 17, 2000
    Messages:
    227,875
    Likes Received:
    292
    Location:
    38103
    Get a Dell Axim. :big grin:
     
  10. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Where is this database? Is it yours or does UPS maintain and update it?
     
  11. dm33186

    dm33186 Guest

    :bigthumb: they rock, got mine the beginning of this month and i love it, they are cheap too, 300 for the advanced and i think the basic is around 150 right now on small bus
     
  12. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I got my copy through school. :sad2: Thanks for the link though.
     
  13. dm33186

    dm33186 Guest

    MSDNAA or some other program? You should see all the cds the people in MSDNAA get, my teacher gets boxes of them monthly, its fun to look through em :)
     
  14. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Yup. We get loads of things every month. ;)
     
  15. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    It would be one I'd/The developer would have to create. UPS said that they are not going to spend 'valuable resources' on developing software that they do not wish to market...

    ..minutes later they mention that they want a copy once completed. :rofl: Losers.

    It'd have to be an Access database.
     
  16. Mikel

    Mikel .

    Joined:
    May 17, 2000
    Messages:
    227,875
    Likes Received:
    292
    Location:
    38103
    I picked up a 400 about 5-6 weeks ago now. Loving it...I no longer have eleventy-billion post it notes within arms reach. :big grin:
     
  17. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Ok, so you work at UPS? You'd know the details and stuff of what you want looked up? I'm wondering where the database would actually sit. I don't think there would be enough space on the handheld. :dunno:
     
  18. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Nope, don't work at UPS at all. Been trying to work with them, but they aren't too interested on working with me..

    The database would be stored locally. My PPC has 320 mb of space, so I'm not too concerned. I think I got about 200mb left. SD cards OWN. :)

    I have all the information to create the database (as far as zones, weights and cost) as well.
     
  19. CruD

    CruD Bah, I'll just hack it

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeway, TX
    What language?
     
  20. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    So if UPS decides to change shit all around, you'll have to follow suit. I'd be happy to do this for you, just give me a flow of what you want the forms to look like and create the database (just add a few records to test with).
     
  21. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Yes, unfortunately. That's why, in maybe later versions, I'd like to incorporate a way for it to get updates via winsock.. but for now, database updates would be fine.

    The zone chart is only updated once a year.

    You the MAN. I will work on it this weekend. I really appreciate it and owe you big.
     
  22. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Hey man, no problem. I can't promise you I'll have it done in a week though. If something with higher priority comes up (work, school, etc), I'll have to put it on hold.
     
  23. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :werd: Completely understand. It could take you 6 months, and that would be fine. I understand that. :bigthumb:
     
  24. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Oh, it won't take 6 months. :p From looking at what you requested in the 3 screen flow, the code should be nothing when you get me the database. Most of my headache will probably be in deploying this thing to your PPC. I'll have to look into that.
     
  25. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Ok, I got a skeleton up of the 3 screens and validation of each field. Let me know if you want to open up the zip to more than 5 digits. Also, how do you want to validate the weight?

    Do you have any idea how to deploy these things? :x:
     

Share This Page