I wish I could enjoy fantasy.

Discussion in 'Entertainment' started by deusexaethera, Oct 3, 2008.

1. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

I have a similar mindset to a lot of my friends (not surprisingly), and most of them like to game and read fantasy novels and all that (even the financially-stable ones!), but I just can't. The only kind of "fantasy" I can enjoy is science fiction, because it hasn't already been proven false. I admire all that magic and D&D and steampunk/dieselpunk shit, but I just feel like a goddamned fool when I try to participate. (profanity inserted to express frustration, not disdain.)

I guess that's what I get for growing up with parents who both took it upon themselves to criticise and embarass me for daydreaming. Come to think of it, pretty much every interest I've ever had I was criticised and embarassed about, with the sole exception of what I now do for a living. (I even got hassled for spending $500 on a good mountain bike, though they were nice enough to keep quiet about it until after I hit a moving car and survived, and they learned the value of strong welds.) I can't even read a fucking magazine in the house without wondering "what it says about me", even though the more-evolved parts of my mind could care less. I try to pay attention to those parts exclusively, but something in particular about imaginative fantasy burns through those blinders and I just can't enjoy it.

I basically feel like I'm wasting my time when I do things that I like.

- - -

EDIT: Yeah I know, I'm kinda ranting Asylum-style, but it made sense to me to do it where people who share the same interests hang out.

Last edited: Oct 3, 2008
  2. Variant

Variant Cast in the name of God, ye not guilty.

I'm going to criticize your for this post and you should feel embarrassed.