SRS I was caught shoplifting today, help! (anonymous thread)

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Darketernal, Jan 17, 2010.

1. Darketernal

Darketernal Watch: Aria The Origination =)

I was caught shoplifting today, I feel stupid and regret it and i am making certain that i will never steal again.

the total came out to be around $45

background on me, i'm a college student in california, 20 years old, pretty broke, i have a clean record with the exception of a minor driving ticket from a few years back.

What do I do?

I called a local attorney but they told me to call back tuesday morning, and i am trying to get some reading done but i cant get my mind off of this.

i was already pretty distraught about how i am going to come up with money to pay both the retail store fine, AND the court fees/fines, but then i realized i have bigger things to worry about like my criminal record...

help!!

2. idonotwantthis

idonotwantthis Active Member

try to get an attorney to get it reduced to trespassing or anything but retail theft. shouldn't be too difficult if you have a good attorney and its ur first infraction. keeping this off ur record, even if it costs 1-2k, is probably worth it in the long run.

3. MattThom01

MattThom01 New Member

Pay your fines, don't do it again. Why would you get an attorney? That will end up costing you more than the fines will. And what's there to argue? You got caught shoplifting (by your own admission).

There are always consequences for our actions. You made a choice, you are going to have to live with the consequences. I don't think there is any way you can undo it or have it "taken back".

4. METALLlC BLUE

METALLlC BLUE New Member

You'll be perfectly ok. They are reasonable when someone makes these choices. Express regret and remorse, and ask if there is a way you can please the court to pay the bills in a structured way that doesn't impair your ability to actually succeed in doing it.