I want to use my laptop as a monitor

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Culex, Sep 17, 2006.

  1. Culex

    Culex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I dont have enough room in my dorm for a monitor, so I wanted to know if I could use my laptop as my monitor. I have the cable, but it still wont work. Do any of you guys know why It wont work?
     
  2. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Umm, I don't think that will work... To supply your laptop monitor with power your laptop has to be on... And therefore will be sending its own signal to your LCD.. You can use another monitor with your laptop but I don't think it can function as just a monitor for another computer.
     
  3. purebad

    purebad I don't need your approval, right?

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    4,376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Smyrna, GA
    seems like you would physically have to take your laptop apart and splice into the line from your laptop to the monitor. The cable you have only hooks up to an output port on your laptop no doubt.
     
  4. Culex

    Culex New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    If i did take apart my laptop and it didn't work, could I put it back together? Cause its new, and it was fairly expensive.
     
  5. fzymn321

    fzymn321 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San diego
    i dont really think that would be a good idea, it would be better to just get a cheap lcd, you dont have space for a 3 inch thick lcd?
     
  6. 88rover

    88rover New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Buy a LCD.
     
  7. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Just use the laptop and give me the PC.
     
  8. Euclid

    Euclid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    8,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    If latency is not an issue (i.e. not playing video games on the desktop), you could network the machines and use VNC or Remote Desktop.

    Otherwise you'd need some kind of video capture device on the laptop to pipe in the video, and that would probably cost just as much as a cheap LCD.

    edit: both of these options would require having the laptop on and running.
     
  9. shiba

    shiba Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    get an external enclosure and install your internal hd into it. Then just use your laptop as your primary computer
     

Share This Page