MIL I want to get out, but am afraid to.

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by SHIFT_blue, Feb 16, 2006.

1. SHIFT_blue

SHIFT_blue OT Supporter

Hey guys wassup.

Ive been wanting to get out of the military pretty much since I got in 2 and a half years ago. The more bullshit I have to deal with the more I want to get out, go home, and get a normal job.

I keep telling myself hey it'll bet better, and thats what everyone always says. But its all been a shitball rolling downhill from the start.

Anyways to the point of my post. Im afraid of the transition to a normal job back home. Afraid that I wont be able to find a job and I will run out of money while I search for one. Or afraid that Ill be stuck with a crappy low paying job.
    But even at least then the BS factor and being overworked without getting payed compensation wont be happening.

Some more info about me. Im 22, I signed for 6 years in the AF (sigh). I am currently in the sweatshop of Kadena AB, Okinawa. Im an AGE mechanic (Ive never been proud of it). I have 3 years here in Okinawa then one year left at a stateside base. I extended 7 months so that one year would be there. They said I had to when I got the orders to Oki.

Sorry its so long. But my main question is what are my chances of finding a decent job if I get out and how much trouble will I have finding it? I also plan to use my GI bill when I get out too. Currently I have no college.

2. ManinCamo

ManinCamo I wear big boy pants.

Are you a A1C or SrA? 3 level? 5 level?

Sit down with your first shirt about your bullshit.

Everyone I've talked to that has gotten out b/c of the bullshit just realizes that its the same amount of bullshit on the civilian side of things, no matter what the job. As AGE you're *probably* not going to have any 'skills' that most employers would want without you have a formal education. Even if you wanted to work somewhere in mechanics or aviation mechanics you'd probably need a formal civilian tech college training.