i want to do a triathlon

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by keeler, Apr 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. keeler

keeler New Member

http://www.redmantriathlon.com/AboutREDMAN/REDMANEvents/tabid/60/Default.aspx

that is the traithlon coming up in my area. about 160 days till the event. I would be doing the half, 1.2 mile swim, 56mile bike, and 13 mile run.
    i have never done anything like this before, and am currently not in shape to do any of those things.
    i've been working out and lost about 16lbs so far and think it would be really cool to have something to train for, besides my health and sex appeal lol.
    anyone know what the pace is like for these things? i can bike about 20 miles now, run about 2-3 miles, and i'm not sure about my swim distance because i havn't done laps in about 3 years.
    recently i havn't been able to lift weights due to an injury and have just been doing 45 minutes of HIIT on the elliptical with bpm average at 160ish.
    How should i go about training for this thing? i've got access to a bike and place to run any day of the week, but the pool i will only have access to about once a week.

2. keeler

keeler New Member

also, any reccomendations for a cheap as hell/decent running shoe? like less than 30 bucks, i can't even afford to buy a sub.

3. solarian

solarian ya heard

wish i could help. but from what i read, sounds like you need a personal trainer.

4. keeler

keeler New Member

never!

5. niners

niners OT Supporter

you should look into any sprint tri's in your area to do before the half. there are even some organizations who host "beginner tri's" which are essentially a super-sprint, do a few of those to get your feet wet. imo a half is a lot to get through with less than half a year to train.