i want to buy 1gig of memory but can i?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by meow, Nov 14, 2006.

  1. meow

    meow OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    11,852
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    PA
    i ran some program to figure out information about my motherboard and i got the results down there. Does that mean the maximum memory i can have is 512mb? i want to get Vista and i think it requires 512 so im borderline if i get a total of 512.

    im probably better off getting a new computer, i've had this with some upgrades since around 1997. so i might have to start looking for some sweet deals if i can find any :(

    i have 128 and 128 now so i can buy a 256 can't i? and put it in the 3rd slot and does it matter what brand i get?

    Mainboard
    Manufacturer : Elitegroup (ECS)
    MP Support : No
    Model : SiS-730
    System BIOS : 05/31/2001-SiS-730-6A6ISE19C-00
    Chipset : SiS 730
    FLASH Memory Controller
    Location : Mainboard
    Error Correction Capability : None
    Number of Memory Slots : 3
    Maximum Installable Memory : 512MB
    Bank0/1 - A0 : DIMM 128MB
    Bank2/3 - A1 : DIMM 128MB
    Bank4/5 - A2 : Empty
    Chipset 1
    Model : Silicon Integrated Systems (SiS) SiS730 CPU to PCI Bridge
    Bus(es) : ISA AGP PCI USB i2c/SMBus
    Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 100MHz (200MHz data rate)
    Maximum FSB Speed / Max Memory Speed : 2x 100MHz / 1x 100MHz
    Width : 64-bit
    IO Queue Depth : 3 request(s)
    Logical/Chipset 1 Memory Banks
    Bank 0 : 128MB SDRAM 3-4-3-6 (tCL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS)
    Bank 1 : 128MB SDRAM 3-4-3-6 (tCL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS)
    Shared Memory : 8MB
    Width : 64-bit
    Memory Controller in Processor : No
    Power Save Mode : No
    Fixed Hole Present : No
    Memory Module 1
    Manufacturer : Micron
    Model : P16M644YAD-75A
    Serial Number : 0A0EDBFE
    Type : 128MB SDRAM
    Technology : 4x(16Mx16)
    Speed : PC133U
    Standard Timings : 3-3-3-5 (tCL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS)
    Version : 1.2
    Date of Manufacture : Tuesday, October 15, 2002
    Set Timing @ 133MHz : 3-3-3-5 (tCL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS)
    Set Timing @ 100MHz : 2-2-2-6 (tCL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS)
    Memory Module 2
    Manufacturer : Samsung
    Model : M3 66S1723BTS-C75
    Type : 128MB SDRAM
    Technology : 8x(16Mx8)
    Speed : PC133U
    Standard Timings : 3-3-3-5 (tCL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS)
    Version : 1.2
    Date of Manufacture : Wednesday, November 14, 2159
    Set Timing @ 133MHz : 3-3-3-5 (tCL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS)
    Environment Monitor 1
    Model : ITE IT8705F LPC
    Version : 1.00
    Mainboard Specific Support : No
    Temperature Sensor(s)
    Board Temperature : 41.0°C / 105.8°F
    CPU Temperature : 41.0°C / 105.8°F
    Cooling Device(s)
    Auto Fan Speed Control : No
    Chassis Fan Speed : 4963rpm
    Voltage Sensor(s)
    CPU Voltage : 1.58V
    Aux Voltage : 2.48V
    +3.3V Voltage : 3.28V
    +5V Voltage : 4.89V
    +12V Voltage : 12.11V
    -12V Voltage : 0.23V
    -5V Voltage : -5.51V
    Standby Voltage : 4.95V
    Battery Voltage : 3.38V
    AGP Bus(es) on Hub 1
    Version : 2.00
    Speed : 4x
    Fast-Writes Enabled : No
    Fast-Writes Support : Yes
    Side Band Enabled : Yes
    Aperture Size : 64MB
    PCI Bus(es) on Hub 1
    Version : 2.10
    Number of Bridges : 1
    PCI Bus 0 : PCI (33MHz)
    Multiplier : 1/3x
    LPC Hub Controller 1
    Model : Silicon Integrated Systems (SiS) SiS PCI to ISA Bridge (LPC Bridge)
    ACPI Power Management Enabled : Yes
    Multiplier : 1/4x
    Speed : 8MHz
    USB Controller 1
    Model : Silicon Integrated Systems (SiS) SiS5597/8 Universal Serial Bus Controller
    Version : 1.00
    Interface : OHCI
    Channels : 3
    Supported Speed(s) : Low (1.5Mbps) Full (12Mbps)
    Legacy Emulation Enabled : No
    USB Controller 2
    Model : Silicon Integrated Systems (SiS) SiS5597/8 Universal Serial Bus Controller
    Version : 1.00
    Interface : OHCI
    Channels : 3
    Supported Speed(s) : Low (1.5Mbps) Full (12Mbps)
    Legacy Emulation Enabled : No
    System SMBus Controller 1
    Model : SiS 5595 Internal SMBus
    Advanced TCO Mode Enabled : No
    Slave Device Enabled : No
    PEC Support : No
    Expansion Slot(s)
    ISA : ISA 16-bit +5V Full-Length
    ISA : ISA 16-bit +5V Full-Length
    ISA : ISA 16-bit +5V Full-Length
    ISA : ISA 16-bit +5V Full-Length
    PCI (9h) : PCI 32-bit +5V Full-Length Available
    PCI (Bh) : PCI 32-bit +5V Full-Length Available
    PCI (Dh) : PCI 32-bit +5V Full-Length Used (Realtek Semiconductor RT8139 (A/B/C/810x) Fast Ethernet Adapter)
    AGP (10h) : AGP 32-bit +5V Full-Length Used
    Port Connector(s)
    PRIMARY IDE : None - ATA / None
    SECONDARY IDE : None - ATA / None
    FDD : 8251 FIFO - Floppy Disk / None
    COM1 : Serial Port 16450 - 9 Pin Dual Inline / DB-9 pin male
    COM2 : Serial Port 16450 - 9 Pin Dual Inline / DB-9 pin male
    LPT1 : Parallel Port ECP/EPP - DB-25 pin female / DB-25 pin female
    Keyboard : Keyboard - None / PS/2
    PS/2 Mouse - Detected : Mouse - PS/2 / PS/2
    USB : USB - None / None
    Performance Tips
    Warning 2533 : Disabled host controllers are present. Check BIOS settings.
    Notice 224 : SMBIOS/DMI information may be inaccurate.
    Warning 2544 : System/Video shared memory greatly reduces performance. Use external video card.
    Tip 2 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Can you look inside the case to see if there is a sticker on the motherboard?

    Some of those mobo's were quirky when it came to memory.

    I've seen some that you could only use two slots on them.

    Or a 512mb max, but you couldn't use more than 128mb sticks.
     
  4. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I really wouldn't count on that computer running Vista too well. Honestly, it's probably time to start over and retire that system if you want to run Vista.
     
  5. meow

    meow OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    11,852
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    PA
    512 is horrible. i checked my friends machine and they can have up to 3gigs. wow, im living in the past.

    im gonna have to agree. sometime this month ill purchase a new one even though it'll be sad. i had someone make this computer for me almost 10 years ago when i was 8-9. it's had it's run, it's time to get with the present though. my computer is loud and noisy even though i have bought so many fans and a few powerbox's during it's time. it never had a smooth screen unless it was a fresh install of windows, never could play games, sometimes not visit sites with flash/java, and plenty more. i only have to replace the computer which is a good thing. my speakers are excellent, best i've heard on a computer, new wireless mouse and keyboard, 1 kinda big hd, good dvd burner..the big problem is just everything inside the computer. motherboard is old, soundcard is old, videocard im not sure, a broken USB port, where i plug in the speakers in the back has a short in it, and more. im gonna first browse the site to see if their are any deals on computers posted anywhere
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Check back and let us know what your plans are.

    Maybe someone can offer some good advice for you.
     
  7. Kabluey

    Kabluey Snowboard, DSLR, Broly - Punchin' holes in souls

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Personally, I wouldn't even bother wasting any more money into this computer. It's hella outdated. The technology on that computer isn't compatible with anything worthwhile of your money that is out now. 512 WON'T run you Vista. Vista's min requirement is at least one gig of ram.

    I can build you the killer computer if you have 800 to spare.
     
  8. meow

    meow OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    11,852
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    PA
    i am 100% going to buy a new computer, i was at best buy last night looking already. i don't know what i am looking for though. the main thing i care about is speed and no lagging. i don't really watch movies or anything on the computer, i burn them. i basically don't care about the things that'll make it my personal media center or whatever they are calling it. i just listen and download a bunch of illegal music and play it with winamp and d/l movies to burn and watch on 360. it takes me 4 hours to convert a xvid to dvd format so i want to get that time down. i don't care if i buy something that isn't all fancy and such, i just want it to run good. i don't need a monitor really, burners, speakers, or anything like that. i already am in good shape there. is there any specific brand that has a good processor/memory/motherboard etc to run great. any help will do. i don't know what i am talking about with computers unless it's software. i know little to nothing about hardware and what brands are best. from looking at prices most were really expensive i want to spend a reasonable amount of money. but, i dont want to be so cheap that im not upgrading from the inside of the computer i have now much.

    im confused because i don't even know if i can get what i want without all the fancy little things to make my computer a media center
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2006
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    There's not much to worry about, but here are the must haves:

    1gb memory minimum

    Pci express for graphics. There are probably still some agp pc's floating around, so avoid those.

    Intel Core 2 Duo (if you are wanting a fast pc, then this is the one to go with)

    16X Dvd DL (dual layer) burner


    That's about it.

    But you would be better off building one for yourself in the long run.
    It's very simple to do, and you would save a few dollars.

    Plus things like power supplies and memory... in a store bought pc, you can't be sure of the quality being used.
    If you build it yourself, you can select the better stuff.

    But other than that, if you find something in a store post the link here and we'll check it out for you.
     
  10. meow

    meow OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    11,852
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    PA
    i want to build my own pc. i talked it over with someone and with the advice here it seems like it's the right thing to do. What i don't need is mouse/keyboard/speakers/monitor/dvd burner (mine takes 4 minutes to burn a dvd so im good)/harddrives/and i bought a power supplybox a couple months ago...

    i need some help

    thanks, ill look at those but that can't be all i need.
    i need to know everything i would need to build a computer. could you help me out i want to start by looking online and finding everything i need on here and adding up the prices to see what i get before i do anything else. does anyone know of any good links because ill probably end up using froggle or somethin to get my estimate spending price if i cant get any help.

    there is a store called A2z Computers down the road, ill check that store out after i check the total price based online.
     
  11. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    512 will barely run Vista. I have it on a computer with 512 and it runs like XP with 256.
     
  12. meow

    meow OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    11,852
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    PA
    well, i guess i changed my mind cause i went back to best buy today and got something. please don't tell me that i bought a piece of crap or something right now because i am happy with my purchase atm.

    i bought this Gateway desktop. It says 2GB ram, Intel E6300 Core 2 Duo Processor, 320gb harddrive (ill add my other big one to it), DVD/CD burner, Tv tuner, 19' flat panel widescreen monitor, Geforce 7300 LE graphics, and w/e else i don't know. i got the good processor you said (i hope) and now enough RAM and that's the main 2 things i wanted. i have the monitor here but i have to go pick up the computer tomorrow.. it cost me $1000. please don't say i got ripped off even if i did because i am happy. they said they will send me a Vista CD when it's available so i wont have to get a pirated copy lol.

    it was going to be too much of a hassle for me to build a computer. i suck at building anything and it would probably be a disaster even though i would probably save money. it's comes with a 3 year warranty
     
  13. meow

    meow OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    11,852
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    PA
  14. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I, personally wouldn't buy a PC from a place like that but if they didn't shaft you on warranty you probably did okay. I don't know about the video card but everything else looks good enough for government work!
     

Share This Page