I want a power mac

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bheld, Mar 8, 2007.

  1. bheld

    bheld I'm paying you with your own money...

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NEIA
    I've sort of gone mac crazy since getting this macbook. Now that my T30 has died for the second (and last) time, I need a good second computer. I was thinking of getting an older power mac to plunk down next to my TV in the living room to serve as a server/backup computer that I can hook up via DVI or S-video if/when I need to. I have to send my macbook in to get serviced so basically I will be using this as my primary until the mbook comes back. After that it will mostly be for holding stuff too big to fit on my paltry 80GB drive on the macbook and keeping my oink ratio up.

    Okay, so that said, what do you think I need? G3 or G4?
     
  2. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    G5
    seriously, just pay the extra little bit, it's worth it...
     
  3. bheld

    bheld I'm paying you with your own money...

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NEIA
    haha, if it really were a "little bit" extra, I'd be all over it. what in your opinion makes a g5 worth it for what I'll be doing?
     
  4. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    If a G5 is really out of your budget, a G4 QuickSilver would be my suggestion
     
  5. bheld

    bheld I'm paying you with your own money...

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NEIA
  6. bheld

    bheld I'm paying you with your own money...

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NEIA
    impulse buy ftw
     
  7. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    great find! i'm quite jealous myself. i'd like to get a mac desktop just for a server. maybe ill look for an older xserve or something
     
  8. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  9. bheld

    bheld I'm paying you with your own money...

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NEIA
    yeah, but there's 2 for a total of 1GHz. :hsughw:
     
  10. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    dual processor 500 mhz would actually run pretty nice. i had the same computer, but dual 450 and it ran tiger great. especially if it's mainly being used to continuously upload torrents for people and use to store files, then why would you need a top of the line machine?
     
  11. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    I had pretty much the same computer, and it ran tiger just fine. Just don't expect any miracles out of it, the 100mhz bus speed is about as fast as a midget in a wheelchair.
     
  12. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    you should have just bought a refurbed mac mini for a little bit more...
     
  13. bheld

    bheld I'm paying you with your own money...

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NEIA
    I considered it but spec'd out like I wanted it would have been like $200 more.
     
  14. Laserbeak

    Laserbeak Remember kids! Be like Billy! BEHAVE YOURSELVES!

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    22,922
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    WA
    I'd like to sell my QuickSilver 733. :o
     
  15. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    how much? ;)
     
  16. just buy a powermac g4, either quicksilver or sawtooth or whatever and upgrade the memory, ram, harddrive, vid card, etc. no need to get a G5 unless you want your ports on the front. should run you 600-800 total if you can shop around on ebay and craigslist.
     
  17. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    nice man
     
  18. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
    only a mac could hold its value so freakin well...
     
  19. bheld

    bheld I'm paying you with your own money...

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NEIA
    well it's the morning after and I still don't regret it. quick question though, I can buy a dvi to component hd adapter to hook the radeon 7000 up to my hdtv right?
     
  20. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    yeah, that should work

    your hdtv doesn't have dvi or vga inputs?
     
  21. skolen

    skolen Guest

    I would've paid a little more for a dual 1.x G5. It's a whole different architecture and, IMO, worth it.
     
  22. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    yep, considering i bought this off of a friend for $30 :
    dual processor pentium II 450mhz
    super O board
    sparkle power supply
    plextor scsi cd burner
    apple dvd rom (odd to see that in a windows machine)
    scsi card
    dual nics
    usb2 card
    firewire 400 card
    hercules 64mb AGP video card
    512mb ram
    giant steel full tower case that wieghs about 50lbs

    he bought all this stuff new, cost him several thousand when it first came out because it was cutting edge at the time. everything still works great today, you get what you pay for. it needs new processor fans, they are getting loud with age.
    he had to get rid of it or dump it in the trash - he was moving, too expensive to ship out to arizona
     
  23. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think for another $200 or so, you can get the processors upgraded to a little over 1ghz each.
     
  24. bheld

    bheld I'm paying you with your own money...

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NEIA
    what would a processor upgrade require? I'm guessing a new motherboard? I'm not sure if the benefits would be worth it to me. I'm not familiar with mac hardware either, are the motherboard sizes standard?
     
  25. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    for laptops, you send in your MB and they replace it for you. for the power macs, I think you can just swap out the processor
     

Share This Page