I want a new computer

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by handbeezy ༼ つ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡° ༽つ, Sep 6, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. handbeezy ༼ つ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡° ༽つ

handbeezy ༼ つ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡° ༽つ Squatters Rights OT Supporter

Right now, I have an iMac, and i love it to death, but i just cant handle not being able to use .exe files any more.
    What kind of PC's are hot on the scene right now? I play games,music,download, everything.
    Any reccomendations that are semi-reasonable priced?

2. DweeLer

DweeLer New Member

Building Yourself > Buying from Company (Lets say Dell): It will be about 200-500 dollars cheaper if you build it yourself. Trust me, I build computers for a living. If you want a good gaming PC i would definately build it myself. The more stuff you are gonna add to their basic pc's, the higher the price rises. They charge crazy prices for adding a stick of memory, speakers, video cards, or any shit like that. Not to mention their PC's are hard to upgrade.

Dell > Building Yourself: An upside to ordering from Dell is you can sometimes get a free Printer or flat panel monitor for discount. and also, if you like messing with them, rebates.

3. SLED

SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

i would agree with this, upwards of spending at least $1k to build a "gaming system" with the latest and greatest video hardware, etc. It is much cheaper, for a mid-line system, to buy from somebody like Dell or HP

4. RyanL

RyanL OT Supporter

It may be cheaper but definantly won't yeild a better computer. I want a quality machine that I know is going to last and for the same price if not a little more I can get exactly what I want in a good quality machine.

5. SLED

SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

I won't agrue with that, but as long as you have the money to spend.

6. RyanL

RyanL OT Supporter

Some on here a while ago said this and it hit me,