WEB I wanna start a website/forum...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by AustinL911, Mar 24, 2008.

1. AustinL911

AustinL911 Illudium Q-36 Explosive Space Modulator

...and I have no idea where to begin. I've never even researched into it before. Nothing extravagent, just nice looking and functional.

Where do I begin?

How much $$$ am I looking at to start up something simple? I'd like to rent/buy server space and bandwidth if I could somewhere. My home connection couldn't hang with a fulltime website.

Thoughts for a complete beginner?

:sadwavey:

2. Jesse

Jesse PSN: iamajesse; XBL: Inhale My Rod; G8 GT crew; Ne OT Supporter

And what is your target audience?

3. Yuppy

Yuppy Have a seat right there....

12 dollars to start a forum..... doman + Host + phpbb3 = forum

4. Robb

Robb Guest

well said, your other option is going w/ vbulletin, but its ~120/yr for a license, phpbb offers a lot of great features, arguably the best free forum software, and hosting is ~8/month at Hostgator.

A domain will set you back about ~$7.

If you have any questions feel free to ask, I'd love to offer any advice. I run a small (~500 member) forum

5. drpepper

drpepper Active Member

just like its been posted before. you probably wont need more than $20 to start.

it is VERY hard to start a forum. you need to have a very specific audience to get members to join. you also need to have something worth registering for.

i run a small forum of about 800 members, and its a lot of trial and error.

6. Vtec44

Vtec44 OG!