I think they're trying to spy on me!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by attomica, Feb 24, 2004.

1. attomica

attomica Active Member

Preface:
    I'm a Graphic Designer at a big persian/oriental rug company. I use Photoshop and QuarkXpress primarily. I'm a Mac guy, but they put me on a PC when I started here so we could interface with outside clients who do not use Macs.

Situation:
    So, I'm working on a catalog, which entails a lot of image manipulation and layout. I'm pleased with the performance of this PC...it's pretty fast. Then, all of a sudden it just bogs down. I mean a full count of three before a mouse click is executed. So, I do a hard restart. When it comes back up, I notice a new icon down in the tool bar by the clock. A right-click reveals that it's a program called winVNC. I suppose they could have installed it after hours or remotely, through the network. I quick search tells me that it's a program meant to view a desktop from a remote location.

Reaction:
    I'm not worried about anything except that they may see that I'm on the net sometimes, but not any more often that when my supervisor goes on a smoke-break and I correspond via email with my brother sometimes. What gets me is the Big Brother feel this is imparting. I'm very productive and can't see a reason why they feel the need to observe my work. My reaction was to do a Find on the local hard drives for winVNC. I located and deleted all the files relevant ot it that I could find.

Any thoughts about this? What would your reactions be?

Thanks.

2. 5Gen_Prelude

5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

It's a helpdesk utility for the mostpart. It can be used for what you say it can. All I can say is that computers you use at work are not yours and you have no right to privacy when using them.

3. col_panic

col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator