i think it sucks that my macbook maxes out at 2gb of ram

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dorkultra, Oct 30, 2009.

  1. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    white c2d 2ghz macbook, can't add more than 2gb of ram. vmware fusion eats it all up, especially when running vista virtualized.

    i guess i should put up the cash and get a macbook pro eventually
     
  2. Pepe

    Pepe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    8 Mile
    definitely should upgrade
     
  3. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Can hardly run Leopard alone with 2GB of RAM. Wish they'd up the MBPs to 10GB or so.
     
  4. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Still not enough but better then the old ones with 4GB.
     
  5. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    Meh.... my black C2D macbook (2.2Ghz) has 4GB in it... runs fine with Snow Leopard and Win7 Ultimate x64 (Fusion VM).
     
  6. snoozeallday

    snoozeallday OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    my white c2d macbook had 4gb ram in it.
     
  7. hoppy1028

    hoppy1028 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
    the only one with a max of 2gb is model MacBook1,1 (is that what u have?)

    white c2d 2ghz here [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2009
  8. Ignited

    Ignited Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly/NJ
    My old black macbook was on the same boat, only supported 2gb. Sold and upgraded to a 15" mbp this September.
     
  9. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
    I <3 4GBs in my MBP
     
  10. MUDFISH

    MUDFISH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    You all suck... I need to upgrade...

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Pepe

    Pepe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    8 Mile
    workin good with my setup

    [​IMG]
     
  12. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    according to crucial.com, it maxes out at 2gb
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Guest

    my model was meant to max out at 3gb, but 4gb works :eek3:

    [​IMG]
     
  14. hoppy1028

    hoppy1028 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
  15. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    looking at misc other forums, many people have installed 4gb (2x2gb) of ram in my macbook and had success. the core duo maxes out at 2gb, but the core 2 duo can handle 4gb. my model is A1181, it can only address 3gb or 3.5gb or so, but an little extra is worth the upgrade

    i think i may pick up some ram on black friday
     
  16. snoozeallday

    snoozeallday OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    just get it online, its cheeeeap. And you dont have to buy "memory for mac", you can just get regular laptop memory. Newegg.
     
  17. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio

    hmm, i looked on newegg for 2 x 2gb 200pin ddr2 pc5300 sodimms and i couldn't find anything less than $80
     
  18. Figori

    Figori Taking BRC to the EXTREME. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere near Maxwell AFB, AL.
  19. about:blank

    about:blank Whether you think that you can or that you can't,

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    28,240
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Portland/Charlotte
    I have 4gb in mine but it doesn't seem to address more than 3gb :(
     
  20. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio

    i figured that, even though its a 64 bit system...i guess the hardware is the limiter.

    i'd like to have at least 512mb more, so having 1gb more would be great
     

Share This Page