I summon the power of the OT IT crack team!!! Somebody please help me!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Boosted03SRT, Oct 31, 2005.

  1. Boosted03SRT

    Boosted03SRT The Champ is here

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    8,817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    I'm in desperate need of help from someone who knows computers. Here's the story...I downloaded Norton Anti-Virus 06 to replace the 03 version on my Dell Dimension 4600C. While installing 06, I got a message that told me I had to uninstall the 03 version from the system before I could finish installing 06. I did that through add/remove and tried installing 06 again. I got another error message telling me that AutoUpdate was still running or detected or something, and that installation was aborted. Now my desktop icons except for IE, Recycle Bin, and Outlook have all become white data boxes, and the only one that works is IE. I cannot access my computer or control panel, nor can I open any shortcuts on the desktop. When I try to open recycle bin, it creates a shortcut to it in the form of a white box, (wtf). I tried doing a system restore but it wouldn't do it through the run command and I can't get to it through the my computer route. I researched this a bit on the Dell support forums and some think it may be a windows installer corruption? I paid 90 something bucks to Dell Support who directed me to use the reinstallation CD for the operating system to try and repair possible damaged windows files. I did that and it did nothing..they're supposed to call me back at 6:30 EST to see how it worked, I'm going to be giving them the business. I went to the Norton website but unfortunately I can't access online tech support because the java scripts/macroflash on a lot of websites don't work for me anymore. I tried calling them up but was put on hold long distance for 30 min. before I gave up. I tried going into safe mode to see if I could restore it that way but the damn thing acts the same way as it does in regular mode. My main concern is losing all my data here...is there any way someone knows that I could A) perhaps do a system restore through other means, and B) save all my data if I have to do a full system wipe. As it is I can't access anything other than IE so I don't know how to backup my data :wtc: :wtc: :wtc:
     
  2. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    If you can access IE you can copy the files somewhere else. Just type C:\ into the address bar instead of http://www.somepornsite.com. IE will work just like explorer will. You can get to my documents, my computer, network share, etc.
     
  3. Boosted03SRT

    Boosted03SRT The Champ is here

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    8,817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    It won't let me open up the files in there when I do that. I double click them and the folder icons go clear. I can select the icons and it gives me the copy option when I click on the selection, so maybe I could transfer the data to an external hard drive?
     
  4. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    maybe. Try rebooting into safe mode. Sounds like it pulled out the Norton file system filter driver without telling windows to stop using it.
     
  5. 01000101

    01000101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    :ugh: gotta love norton
     
  6. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    holy hard to read. paragraphs, man.
     
  7. ski

    ski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    22,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    ARGH IT BURNSlc
     
  8. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    Or cliff notes...
     
  9. Boosted03SRT

    Boosted03SRT The Champ is here

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    8,817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Sorry about the lack of cliffs, but I do have good news. I spent a couple hours working with Dell tech support last night and everything is fixed. They had me do a parallel install of windows, then I had to go out and buy an external hard drive and put all my important data on there, then we did a complete system dump/reformat. I spent today putting everything back on the new system, and ta da, no more problems. Thanks for the imput though Evil!
     
  10. synthetic

    synthetic New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    pato, return that dell, their tech support is a bunch of gandis followin a script and know no other alternatives to fixing the problem!!!!

    my servers at work have 4 hour supports and if u dont do things by their script u dont get replacement parts...even tho they are obviously fucked.
     
  11. Boosted03SRT

    Boosted03SRT The Champ is here

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    8,817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Lol I know who this is....their operators are Ghandi; once you pay the money for their "helpdesk" you get the English speaking technicians. I asked the guy who helped me out where he was at and he said Ottawa, CA.
     

Share This Page