SRS I see no hope for my future... due to parents mostly

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Roddy, Apr 24, 2007.

1. Roddy

Roddy Guest

Hey guys/girls,

I'm going on 24 years of age in July, and have a fair bit of shit on my mind I want to vent out in the hope that some of you can give some advice on.

I feel as if kids that are 17 or so have had more "life experience" and done more with their lives than what I have. ie: For a 24 year old I feel as if had nowhere near the experience of "life" as other people my age have. This experience i refer to is stuff like travelling, sport etc.

Now what does this all have to do with my parents?

- They have always given reasons why stuff that I want to do shouldn't be done (could be dangerous) etc etc.

- Yet they expect me to do the things that they suggest.

A classic example is that I completed my university degree last year in September. Up until 2 months ago I had been working at an Electrical retail store for 9 years.

My dad then says that I should consider starting a business whereby I can set up TV's etc, and show people how to use stuff etc. Mind you, there is a LOT of old people in my city. It's the city that most oldies travel to in order to retire and die. So technology can get the best of them...

Basically its as if he's trying to live his life through mine.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've always wanted to go work for a big company, and then maybe see about creating my own business venture. I like the social aspect of working in a team etc.. and i find that working by myself has caused me to be in isolation, as i'm always "working" on what my dad wants me to.

I'd like to move out but dont have enough finances

I've considered getting into Cycling as a new hobby, but get told that "that's dangerous.. u get hit by cars etc on the road"..

I honestly dont know what to do with my life... as i feel as if i have no "freedom".