I really want to detail as my job, I dont care about money, I turned down over 32k!

Discussion in 'That'll Buff Right Out' started by quamen, Jan 7, 2004.

1. quamen

quamen New Member

Well, I really want to do this full time detailing business of mine. I figured this out today when i got a call. I have a 2 year degree in Criminal Justice and im going for my BA degree in Criminal Justice. I work for a company now as a undercover security, catching shoplifters. Anyways, my old company I worked for knew I was interested in this part of their corporation, but at the time didnt have a opening. I moved about 1 hour away and the money wasnt worth the commute. The position I had paid a little over 12 dollars an hour.

Anyways, the one security guy is leaving, the head guy and wanted me to get his spot since im experienced I assume. The pay is a tad of 32,000 dollars a year!!! Guess what? Im turning it down to do car detailing on how dumb that might sound. Something I have wanted to do for a very long time, as a full time "Professional" and just not friends and neighbors cars when I had off from my other job.

I know I might not make 1/2 of that my first seaon, but I have to start somewhere. I have been reading so much on this board, researching different methods, gathering information from other shops and much more. Im giving it my all to do this and hopefully the rewards will come. Either way, whenever i detail a car Ill be happy because of what im doing.

Money isnt everything, but if your happy with what your doing, to me that is more important. I get bored walking around all day sometimes, tracking register shortages and that stuff. Im good at it, but it doesnt make me nearly as happy as thorwing down a nice coat of wax.

Yes, I know I sound like a dork and turning down alot of money since im only 22 living at home. But hey, even a bad days detailing, beats a good day at work!

Rich :bowdown: