MMA I never really followed boxing till I started training...

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by konrad109, Sep 10, 2007.

1. konrad109

konrad109 New Member

Yesterday I was looking at some Roy Jones highlights and info when I learned about the McClellan vs Nigel Benn fight. Youtube has some interviews with both Benn and McClellan some years after the fight and they are both wrecks. McClellan is blind, deaf, and partially retarded and Benn is badly depressed from what happened on that night. He tried committing suicide.

I am still feeling kinda anxious and sick to my stomach. I am about to go to boxing training but I keep imagining hitting one of my sparring partners too hard and something happening to them or something happening to me sometime down the road after too many headshots.

Ugh this is shitty feeling. I've heard about deaths and brain injuries from boxing before but I never really thought about it much untill I actually saw the victims of it. I mean I doubt it any serious brain injury will actually happen at this level but I can't get the thought of it out my head.

2. checkii

checkii ฝรั่งตาน้ำข้าว

you have been doing this for something like 2 months. there is absolutely no reason you should be in a ring hitting someone, or getting hit by someone hard enough to do any damage.

If you are truely worried about it happeneing to you, then you might want to reconsider your gym contract. If you are worried about hurting someone else? don't. Fuck them. They are your boys in there, but they signed up for it just liek you did. Injuries are part of the game.

What you should be doing is worrying more about making yourself a better boxer so that you can avoid taking too much damage (i know, the best ever are wearing drool cups).

Don't let the negative influence your confidence or your drive. just let it be your decision maker for when its time to quit or time to step up to a next level or down back to a previous level.

good luck.

3. konrad109