I need to spoof the amount of ram my system reports

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by zanyspy_dude, May 30, 2008.

  1. zanyspy_dude

    zanyspy_dude King of teh n00bz

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    I'm trying to install an antivirus program for my aunt that requires 512 to download. I just upgraded her to 448 MB and won't be getting anymore (256 MB + integrated memory it can take).

    How can I "fake" the amount of memory the system is reporting to this website so i can download the software?

    TIA
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2008
  2. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Replacing the computer will solve the problem.
     
  3. awns729

    awns729 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Install a differnet program. Thats a ridiculous workaround for just an antivirus program.

    Or just download it onto a different computer, if thats the holdup.
     
  4. tyrionlannister

    tyrionlannister New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Give your aunt Ubuntu. Create a giant Firefox icon and label it "The Internets". She'll never know the difference and you won't need to constantly remove her spyware, viruses, and toolbars.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    do NOT install linux for her. Fuck the morans that suggest it.



    download avast or AVG.
     
  6. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    :rofl:

    there's a software called RAM Doubler way back in old school windows.
    i think it just increases your virtual memory though.
     
  7. tyrionlannister

    tyrionlannister New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Hmm, you're right, she might try to click something other than the giant browser button one day. Set the machine up for a kiosk mode web browser, that's a nice idiot-proof solution. On startup, it'll load the browser and not let her leave it. Map the power button to a graceful system halt so they can turn it off cleanly. If they don't notice the change, they'll stop having problems. If they do notice it, they'll never ask you to help them with the computer again. Win-win.

    Or maybe you like fixing your family's computers.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I take the approach of fixing them, then explaining how I fixed them so they can do it themselves next time. It actually works.
     
  9. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Yeah, I couldn't agree more with you. Usually you have something negative to say, but recommending Linux is not going to solve any problems.. in fact it may create more.
     
  10. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can buy a really cheap PC these days that'll do everything your aunt needs. pick up a refurbished dell for about $350 after shipping and make sure you leave vista on it. vista will help stop her from doing many stupid things like installing spyware and shit.

    oh, and if you are nearby, don't give her the administrator password directly. give her a normal account so that she needs you to install the apps for her.
     
  11. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    No... it won't
     
  12. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm... i thought it would. i turned off UAC, but will it allow a normal user to install software? i didn't say it would completely stop her, but it would help.
     
  13. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I work for a software company that provides PCs to our end users, and have their own techs put antivirus software on their Vista PCs. Many of them call us within days because they have spyware already(UAC on) and they shouldn't be surfing the web anyways(we sell fuel distribution software).
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    sounds like your techs arn't able to properly lock down a machine.
     
  15. zanyspy_dude

    zanyspy_dude King of teh n00bz

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    I would suggest this but she likes the laptop. She really has no need to upgrade since this one works great for surfing from the couch. She has a desktop she uses to burn cd's


    Not my choice if she replaces it or not

    That's what i ended up doing. I just wanted to make this one particular program work since AT&T has an icon that bugs her about installing this that i couldn't get rid of. I just know it will aggravate her. The bitch of the situation is that I made her use nortons, ad-aware, and spybot, but she removed them because AT&T told her that 2 anti-virus programs at the same time might "damage her computer", even though she never got their NORTON DERIVATIVE to work.

    Oh well. Thanks for the help
     
  16. zanyspy_dude

    zanyspy_dude King of teh n00bz

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    I found that and it complained when i installed that my windows was 3.95 and not 3.11
     
  17. awns729

    awns729 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you need to take this ATT bullshit and pwn it. What AT&T software is this anyway? Uninstall it?
     
  18. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    We aren't their administrators, we provide them with computers to run our software if needed. If we are controlling their machines, we put them on a domain.. which we have no issue with those. It is our customers who have their own techs do their own thing.
     
  19. zanyspy_dude

    zanyspy_dude King of teh n00bz

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    it an antivirus bundle and it was never installed. It just tells my aunt to download it, then tells her that she doens't have enough ram to download it.

    it's just an anoyance.
     
  20. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you're a fucking idiot for telling your aunt to download isp-provided software. It is largely regarded as the shittiest possible.
     
  21. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    God damn shut the fuck up.
     
  22. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    go back to sucking your fathers cock you worthless cunt.
     
  23. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    You need to get some method of release other than the sub forums of OT, it's a fucking joke how you are still here.
     
  24. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    oh, yes, how could i not have seen it this entire time, it is a totally good idea to spoof the amount of ram your system reports so that you can install a shitty av package provided by att. how could i have been so blind before :greddy: :ugh2: :greddy: :ugh2: :greddy: :ugh2: :greddy: :ugh2: :greddy: :ugh2:
     
  25. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    I'm not even talking about the thread topic here.

    True, you are offering help. But EVERYTHING you say comes packaged with a special P07r0457 insult. Seriously, I've never seen you put together a reply that isn't either one word for the sake of being annoying, or something helpful with 'you fucking idiot' tagged on the end.
     

Share This Page