I need to replace my HD v. Tell what I need:o

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by the slowness, Aug 27, 2008.

  1. the slowness

    the slowness OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin:drama:
    Looks like my HD in my PowerBook G4 died so I need a new one. It was a 80gig but I would like to double the size. Can anyone point me in the right direction to buy a new one.....also any links on replacing a HD would be nice:o
     
  2. robwormald

    robwormald New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    33,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    any ata/100 notebook drive will be fine. doesnt have to be apple specific.

    you'll need a torx t8 and a philips 00 screwdriver. its the easiest repair to do on a PB
     
  3. a-money

    a-money OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    23,771
    Likes Received:
    5
    http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/

    its got all the directions you need, you can even print out a screw organizing sheet and shit.

    pretty handy
     
  4. the slowness

    the slowness OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin:drama:
    thanks for the info:cool:...i just ordered a seagate 160gig from new egg...hopefully it will get here friday. anyone have a copy of osx i could use...i don't have any discs it came with:o
     
  5. funkdis

    funkdis OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    shoebox
    why stop at 160gig? at these prices, its always good to have that little bit more, even after you get a new computer, harddrive can be put into an external case :)
     
  6. Drloveless

    Drloveless Mac Crew

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronots
    250gb, max it out, never do it again. ftw
     
  7. the slowness

    the slowness OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin:drama:
    I was going to get a bigger hd but I use my desktop alot more...plus I'm broke :o
     
  8. the slowness

    the slowness OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin:drama:
    so i just got do installing my drive, now im trying to install tiger:o.... but i get a error saying i can't install the os...what am i doing wrong:o
     
  9. robwormald

    robwormald New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    33,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    on the install disk, under utilities => disk utility, you'll need to format the disk at Mac OS X Extended be
     
  10. the slowness

    the slowness OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin:drama:
    what the duce....can you break it down for me a bit more:o....i got to disk utility...whats next? erase?:o
     
  11. the slowness

    the slowness OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin:drama:
    so i did erase the Hd @ mac os extended...what next? i still get a pop up that says "this software cannot be installed on this computer"
     

Share This Page