I need to find out what kind of firewire card to install

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Bennybenguin, Mar 19, 2008.

  1. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Gateway MX6448 laptop.

    Anyone have a good site where I could check this out? :x:

    Thanks


    UPDATE: So, I got the 4 to 6 pin cord and apparently, I am going to need a 6 pin card for my computer to get this device to work. What kind of card do I get?
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2008
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
  4. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
  5. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cord doesn't work. I need to install a 6 pin card.....

    Halp?
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just go on Newegg and get the best-rated 1394 card made for a Cardbus slot.
     
  8. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0

    I have been looking on newegg, but how can I make sure it will fit my computer?

    I have a Gateway MX6448 laptop.
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    If that's a firewire port on the laptop, then you just need to get the correct cable.

    What are you trying to connect to the laptop?
     
  10. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tascam FW-1804

    http://www.tascam.com/products/fw-1804.html

    They say not to use a 4 pin, but I tried anyway and it didn't work...
     
  11. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    that gateway will accept any PCMCIA Type I or Type II card.
     
  12. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Newegg gives this one the highest grade. What do you guys think?




    [​IMG] IO-CBFW210 Laptop Add-on Cards


    Koutech IO-CBFW210 IEEE 1394 PCMCIA Card - Retail

    • 1394: 2 x IEEE 1394
    • Data Rates: 400/200/100 Mbps
    • Features: Fully supports provisions of IEEE 1394-1995 standard for high performance serial bus and the P1394a supplement; Fully compliant with 32-bit CardBus and PCMCIA Type II specification; Comes with two (2) 6-pin standard connectors; Supports up to 63 devices in peer-to-peer configuration; Compliant with Open Host Controller Interface (OHCI) 1.0 specification;
    • Interface: 32-bit CardBus Type II
    • Model #: IO-CBFW210
    • Item #: N82E16815104238
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    The pdf manual for your Tascam deck shows this.


    [​IMG]


    If that's correct, then you should be able to use the smaller 4pin connector with 4pin cable.

    It's possible that you can't run as many simultaneous tracks through the 4pin cable as you can through the 6pin, but it should work.
    There's gotta be a setting for it somewhere that you are overlooking.

    They didn't put the 4pin connector there for no good reason.
     
  14. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    It doesn't have that...

    This is what it looks like..

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
     
  16. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah... I don't know why, since I thought the 2 extra pins were for power, but it didn't....

    Suggestions for the card?
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    That should be fine.

    EDIT: When you say it doesn't work with the 4-pin to 6-pin cable, what exactly does it do?
     
  18. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Any PCMCIA card will do... Take your pick from newegg.
     
  19. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, my computer recognizes that it is hooked up to an external device, and I can see that there is an audio signal going to the Tascam device, but that signal doesn't go from the board to my computer...
     
  20. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    On the computer, you have the firewire driver installed for the Tascam unit?

    http://www.tascam.com/products/fw-1804;9,14,45,19.html
     
  21. Bennybenguin

    Bennybenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    0
  22. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I don't mean to beat the topic up, but if you have the correct driver, you still need to have everything setup properly.
    The control panel for the firewire driver needs to be setup.
    You also need to have your Sounds and Audio Devices set properly in windows control panel.
    If you did all that, then sure, you may have to buy a 6pin firewire card.
    But I would dig deep before you do. If you don't have something set right, you will run into the identical problem when the new firewire card shows up.
     
  23. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    :ugh: doc, you're wrong.
     
  24. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    How so?
    Every audio driver that i've seen has it's own control panel.

    And you still have to go into Sounds and Audio Devices to set the sources.

    I even double checked just now, just in case I had wrongly assumed something.

    And the owners manual only says it's "recommended" to use the 6pin connector at the computer. It does not say it's mandatory.
     
  25. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Sure, but it's not avaiable with USB/IEEE1394 devices until AFTER the device is connected, syncd, bootstrapped, and working.

    Not usually. Even when you do, it's AFTER the device is recognized and syncd.

    You did wrongly assume a IEEE1394 device for a PCI device.

    I know, I have used several IEEE1394 audio interfaces. They work fine 6-4 pin so long as you use the appropriate DC supply.
     

Share This Page