SRS I need to change

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Wolvish, Oct 13, 2006.

1. Wolvish

Wolvish New Member

:hs:

I need to stop drifting through school.

The problem isn't working hard at it, it's just staying motivated. Right now, I know I need to show up every day and do the work, and get a grade worth being proud of. Tomorrow morning I'm not gonna want to go to school.

Anyone have any advice on staying motivated? I have a problem with attendance at school, I've had it for years, I just never feel like going when I wake up in the morning, and it's going to fuck a lot of things up if I don't change soon.

2. Coottie

Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

My advice, study what you are passionate about.

I'm getting very good grades at the University level and I'm studying a subject that I really am passionate about. I actually spend my free time (when there's no assignments due and I'm not getting paid to do it) doing what I love....working on and with computers. It's my passion and I love it....I want to know everything about them.

However, even I struggle with motivation problems. A degree is difficult because you have to take many classes that simply don't interest you like other classes. I mean I couldn't care less about Biology but here I was taking a lecture and lab course in Bio. Do that enough times and it wears you down.

Sometimes I really have to force myself to go but I found, if I sit close to the front of the class and ask questions, it helps me stay interested in the lectures. I try not to ask silly, trivial questions but try to really be focused about them. I find that when I'm into the lecture and involved, that I really enjoy the classes more and then I WANT to go. I never thought I'd want to go to class but I actually don't like to ditch anymore.

However, it's 2:30am and I'm ditching tomorrow. :) Hey, I'm not perfect but I try to keep my ditching to a few times each semester.

3. AmCo

AmCo Haters goin' Hate