I need to build the wife a new computer...What MB & processor do you suggest?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Phantasm, Sep 30, 2005.

  1. Phantasm

    Phantasm OT's Horror movie buff

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warren, Michigan
    My wife is bitching about her computer being too slow. Its a :bowdown: 1GHz Pentinum with 512MB ram. The OS is windows media center. All I will be looking to do is replace the motherboard & CPU. I want to keep this cheap, but still have it be reliable. I will just use the video, sound, & network cards out of the old computer along with the CD, CDRW, & hard drives.

    All she really does is surf the web & do banking. She want to play the new Sims games :greddy: , & she plays all the shitty slots & mahjong games :mamoru: .

    So what would you suggest for me ans far as MB & CPU?
     
  2. Diggumz

    Diggumz Devin da dude

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    what type of ram is it, ,SDRAM,RDRAM, DDR? those early P4s/P3s used diff ram..
     
  3. AeroSquid

    AeroSquid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    9,627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    MSI Neo2 + 3000+ Venice. Upgrade ram to 1gb pc 3200
     
  4. Phantasm

    Phantasm OT's Horror movie buff

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warren, Michigan
    I know its not RDRAM, I believe its DDR.
     
  5. Diggumz

    Diggumz Devin da dude

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Now that we have the first part of the puzzle down, time for the rest, if you want to be extremely cheap and get a reasonable upgrade, get a socket 754 motherboard and anything above a 2600+ Sempron, midrange, 2800-3200+ Athlon 64 socket 939. and MSI Neo2. No high end for you.
     
  6. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dual Core...

    Dual Core...
     
  7. Diggumz

    Diggumz Devin da dude

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    take your X2 and shove it Peyomp
     
  8. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    hahahaha :)
     
  9. tony

    tony Guest

    sempron or celeron

    Any good-name motherboard, Abit, Asus, MSI, etc

    ~2800

    512meg ram will be sufficient for what you said she does.
     
  10. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    The world is greener when you have him on your ignore list. He's already banned from OnTopic and DIAC which is great, but I leave him on IL anyway for times like these.

    I agree, go with a Sempron for the upgrade. Whatever Asus motherboard you choose and get the processor within your budget.
     
  11. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then you won't see me call you out for the trolling asshat that you are? ;) And I am not banned from DIAC. Moron.
     
  12. PeacefulAnarchy

    PeacefulAnarchy You get one for the money, two for the show, three

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY, USA
    My friend just used a Sempron 2800+ Palermo 256K cache CPU, Chaintech VNF3/Ultra motherboard, and an MSI Radeon 9250 128MB 128-bit card for a server build and he has no issues whatsoever. The setup is phenomonally fast and stable.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813152043

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819104245

    If I were you I'd highly consider replacing the onboard audio with that thing - it's not Chaintech's fault, it's just that Realtek's "Souped Up Civic" drivers are all flash and no substance. I've gone through hell and back getting them to output audio on my friend's machine.

    As I've said before, I've had my best experiences with Chaintech and Asus boards. I prefer Chaintech for day to day use and Asus for overclocking/hardcore usage.

    My main box has had both an A7N8X-X and a Chaintech 7NIL1, I blew the A7N8X-X with conductant and replaced it with the Chaintech due to the fact that this rig will be an SFF PC in 6 months or so.

    Both boards are comparable - but the power management features on the Chaintech own the Asus - Power on hotkey is much more customizable, I have it set for "CTRL+F1," the Asus only had "ANY KEY."

    But the Chaintech has no VCore, the Asus had that.

    Before all of this I had a *shudder* Soyo...Oh God. What a pile of shit.
     

Share This Page