i need some help getting my ps3 back online

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by huangsta, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. huangsta

    huangsta OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Taipei, Taiwan
    just gonna throw out all the info:

    -i have a 60gb launch ps3 from the US, everything worked flawlessly for 2-3 years

    -i am now in asia (taiwan), ps3 has a wired connection to my router

    -everything looks fine under internet settings: ip, nat type 2, etc.

    -however, under connection test, it fails to establish an internet connection (2nd phase of the test)

    -dns error when trying to system update

    -cannot sign in psn

    what is weird is that the web browser works... i'm not sure if it's because i need to make an asia psn account... but i don't think this is the reason b/c don't some of you guys have jap accounts that work in the US?
     
  2. FunkyMunniez

    FunkyMunniez Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,918
    Likes Received:
    1
    get your DNS numbers from your router, do a manual setup of your connection. set everything to whatever default happens to be there but when you get to DNS, manually put in the numbers, the finish the rest on the defaults.

    assuming you have vista or xp, go to your networks where you can view your options to connect to the internet, right click and hit properties or view status, select details. Look for DNS servers and take down those two lines of numbers.

    You might also need to make an asia psn account.
     
  3. Skyline22GTR

    Skyline22GTR OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    9,080
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Orlando
    i would say you need a new PSN account
     
  4. huangsta

    huangsta OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Taipei, Taiwan
    i fucking love you man.

    and note to everyone, i did not need to make an asia psn account
     
  5. FunkyMunniez

    FunkyMunniez Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,918
    Likes Received:
    1
    this is usually the first solution you should go to for anything that says DNS error. happens to me at school all the time. glad it worked out for you :h5:
     

Share This Page