I need honest opinions about mods for my Cobra

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by oogaboogaboo, Jun 29, 2005.

1. oogaboogaboo

oogaboogaboo Guest

I have a '99 Mustang Cobra and I would like to throw some mods on it for fun. What I had in mind are first to change the gears (like 4:10s), and exhaust, possibly a chip, etc. My first question is what gear ratio is the best for this car, and what type/brand of exhaust would be the best? I have had this car for 2 years and I am in college, but this summer I will actually make some cash to fix up my car. I just need advice becuase I have never done this before, I am a car enthusiast without much experiece. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

2. Imyourzero

Imyourzero OT Supporter

I would definitely do gears and exhaust, but would probably save the chip for later (for a couple of reasons). Gears: 4.10s are generally considered the "minimum" for Cobras of that generation. Some Cobra owners prefer 4.30s, but be aware you'll be shifting even more often and your fuel economy will decrease even more. I can tell you from first-hand experience that if you do a lot of driving around town, shifting that much can get a bit annoying after a few months of having the gears installed.

As far as exhaust, how far do you want to go with it? Do you want to replace the stock midpipe with an offroad H or X pipe? Do you want a different catback? Or do you want to redo the entire exhaust including the headers? LT headers will make a noticeable difference, but I hear they are a bitch to install on the 4.6L engines. They are also pretty pricey, but now that I've had LTs I'm not sure I could go back to shorties. At the very minimum, I'd at LEAST replace the midpipe with an offroad X (Bassani, Dr. Gas, Magnaflow) or a ProChamber and go from there. That'll give you a bit more power and a big change in the exhaust note.