I need help with my internet connection!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Reznik, Jul 14, 2004.

  1. Reznik

    Reznik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I used Adaware and found 300 files on the system, unfortuanetely I did not know that I had to back up the files....like save a log. So now my IE is not working. I did a search on the web and came up with winsock fix. A program that fixes your registry keys and I think resets your tcp/ip but the problem is it is only for XP. And this computer I am running is 2000 Pro. I need help to get back on the internet.


    P.S. Although I think the computer seems to be able to connect and get the required files like updates etc...so I am not entirely sure that it is a internet connection problem...and also my other computers are working.sooo?

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2005
  2. Reznik

    Reznik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get a "Page cannot be displayed" error.

    EDIT: And oh yeah, I tried the cmd> ipconfig /release and renew but it says
    no adapters bound to the TCP/IP via DHCP or something like that.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2005
  3. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    i.e. and your tcp/ip stack are not related other than the fact that i.e. is going to send and receive over the connection. if your browser is fuxored, you should reinstall the browser and leave tcp/ip out of it. if your connection to the internet does not work (ping yahoo.com or something) that would be a different fix.
     
  4. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    so are you using a static address?
     
  5. Reznik

    Reznik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    col_panic..you have pm
     
  6. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    My bet is he had something running that was acting as a proxy and he deleted it.

    Go download HIJackThis and post the results (And I would suggest not changing anything until someone helps with that log). Its under 200k so it easily fits on a floppy if you cannot manage to get IE to work for you.

    Another suggestion is FIREFOX instead of IE, problem solved.
     
  7. Reznik

    Reznik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have a floppy or anything to transfer the files, so I am just gonna type it out from a printed sheet. Here:

    HijackThis v1.97.7
    Platform: Windows 2000 SP4
    Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1

    Running processes:
    C:\WINNT\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\services.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Anti Virus\navapsvc.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\regsvc.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\MSTask.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\stisvc.exe
    C:\winnt\system32\srvany.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\WBEM\WinMgmt.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINNT\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINNT\System32\cdplayer.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\administrator\Unzipped\HijackThis.exe

    04 - HKLM\..\Run: [DeluxeCD] C:\WINNT\System32\cdplayer.exe -tray
    04 - HKLM\..\Run: [Synchronization Manager] mobsync.exe /logon

    - - - - - - - - - - - -

    ok, that's it, finally done....help me out please.
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2005
  8. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    sent
     
  9. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI

    Adaware said you had 300 items and thats all HiJackThis shows? What are we missing? Usually there are several things listed in a HiJackThis log even after you run the spyware programs....
     
  10. Reznik

    Reznik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ran hijack this after adaware and deleted the rest of the files and I did not save anything.
     
  11. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    Did you get this working again, if so what was the answer?

    If not check your Connection settings in IE, make sure there is not a proxy set...
     
  12. Reznik

    Reznik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    No its not fixed :(
    And to make it worse..I can't try anything without knowing what it does...because its a computer at the place where I work, not my own.

    I have a question, 1) I have 3 computers networked, one of which is the computer this thread is about. And I changed the computer to "Choose IP address automatically", which didn't work. So I called the ISP and they gave me a new IP Address, subnet, gateway and DNS but it still isn't working. Do you guys have any idea why it is not?

    2) I opened WinsockXP fix and it gave me the following information:
    Repairing Winsock in Win9x - Me manually do this:
    open Network settings
    1.) Remove all protocols or everything EXCEPT leave the NIC Adapter
    2.) Click Apply & Close the Properties box, but on reboot notice, hit Cancel...
    do not reboot!
    3.) Open Regedit and delete these keys:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\VXD\Dhcp
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\VXD\Dhcpoptions
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\VXD\MSTCP
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\VXD\Winsock2
    also ..scroll down delete
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Winsock2
    close regedit
    4.) Open Network Properties again, and Click ADD - PROTOCOL - MicroSoft/TCPIP
    **should Add Client for MS Networks Automatically**
    Have your Windows CD ready or the CAB files,
    Reboot and Should be good.

    Is this info trustable? Is it what I need?
    I need OTs help.
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2005

Share This Page