WEB I need help with ad placement. v.web stats

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by kingtoad, Nov 8, 2007.

  1. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Not much of a designer or marketer. In an attempt to get a few extra dollars (by all means, I'm not asking for a miracle, I'm just expecting literally a few dollars). I created a web proxy, since rumor around here has it they're decent money makers. I started it to see how it would do. So, I need your help, those of you who are experts in ad placement and marketing (thormor, symptic, jesse, trev, etc).

    I started and completed the site on Sunday, registered the domain, and launched it on Monday. The very next day I started advertisement. It's gotten approx. 30k hits I've launched and so far has quite a number of loyal users. I am averaging 770 impressions a day. An average of 4 gigs of bandwidth used a day. And in just today, I've received 809 unique visitors. Out of those 809, I have 160 conversions. 54% of hits were from digg (Thank you OTers who shouted). I'm happy with the hit statistics I'm receiving, however, I am unhappy with my clicks. As I average 770 impressions a day, I average about 1 click per day. I am assuming the reason why I'm not getting any clicks is because of my design and ad placement.

    Please review it and and offer suggestions.

    http://www.proxyfrog.net
     
  2. VD

    VD Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    71,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TWIN CITIES
    I'd start with a 468x60 on the right side of the submit button when you're actually surfing with it.
     
  3. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Right side? Or underneath the submit button?
     
  4. JoeyJoJoJuniorShabadoo

    JoeyJoJoJuniorShabadoo Live Free or Die

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    http://www.stogietime.com
    i'd say right side, unless you are designing for 800x600 then there is no room on the right side, of course if someone is using 800x600 they probably dont even know what a proxy is.
     
  5. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Cool. I'll await more suggestions. Looks like a redesign may be in progress.
     
  6. JoeyJoJoJuniorShabadoo

    JoeyJoJoJuniorShabadoo Live Free or Die

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    http://www.stogietime.com
    what script are you using for it?
     
  7. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    An older version of PHPProxy. A bit modified for this project.
     
  8. pkr

    pkr Guest

    I'd go with something like this for right under the submit box (obviously your colors though) .. it's a 468x15

    [​IMG]
     
  9. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I was actually thinking of that. But if I do, I'd have to give up WidgetBucks widget for it. Which I may do.

    Are there any other ad companies that allow other companies ads to be on the same page? WidgetBucks allows this. AdSense doesn't though. :(
     
  10. pkr

    pkr Guest

    Oh :uh: didn't even notice the widget bucks down there :rofl: Well I guess that's some good placement.... :mamoru:

    That's kind of why I don't like adsense though. Too exclusive. Azoogle is the same way.
     
  11. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    :werd: :sad2:

    I think text ads right underneath there would be PERFECT. I just need to find someone who allows it.
     
  12. pkr

    pkr Guest

    You need a mascot. Here:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. pkr

    pkr Guest

    Fixed up from:

    [​IMG]

    :o
     
  14. JesterFX

    JesterFX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    You sure widget bucks can't be on the same page as adsense?
     
  15. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    WidgetBucks allows it. AdSense does not.
     
  16. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    :bowrofl: :roflw: I definitely want one of those for that site. I'm going to ask my designer if he can sketch me one. He owes me anyway, I sat at his desk for a day walking him through how to code a website. :o

    I just hope he agrees. :x:
     
  17. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    :rofl: :bowdown:
     
  18. Tony Stark

    Tony Stark John McCain has an illegitimate mexican baby

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    40,060
    Likes Received:
    0
    people who use a proxy, also use adblock
     
  19. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    :ugh:
     
  20. JesterFX

    JesterFX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    because it is contextual? They loosened up the terms quite a bit and even allow other "contextual" networks as long their units don't look too similar to adsense units. But maybe I am missing something?
     
  21. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    Have you thought about maybe a popup or two from COPEAC? I think you might be able to get a couple of people to click on those.
     
  22. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Do they allow ads being placed from other companies on the same page?
     
  23. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    It looks like they don't care. There is no one on right now from their site, but I read the TOS and nothing says you can't use other ad services. I would think it would be alright since they offer popups, and popunders.
     
  24. LEGbEND

    LEGbEND .

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    23,270
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Shitcago
    You have to realize that people are going there for one-purpose, and it's not to click ads. You can trick people into clicking ads but it might not make them happy.

    In my experience, moving the ads inside of the content on my site proved a huge increase in clicks/revenue. The header and sidebar ads were doing 1/4 of the clicks as the in-content ads.
     
  25. Jesse

    Jesse PSN: iamajesse; XBL: Inhale My Rod; G8 GT crew; Ne OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    25,649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California :: (925)
    Ditch widgetbucks; It's all about buying new toys. I would only use widget bucks for sites which specialize in selling things. I tried widgetbucks on bestreactions.com, and didn't get one click after a good 24 hours. When I first put up the site with adsense, I had 200 clicks a day for about a week.
     

Share This Page