I need a good web host

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mace, Jun 14, 2005.

  1. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Can anyone recommend me a good web host?

    Needs:
    cPanel
    PHP with Register Globals on so I can use osCommerce
    sendmail
    MySQL
    FTP
    SSH

    anything else I'm missing?
     
  2. mastaofmurda

    mastaofmurda Guest

  3. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    yeah, but not that much. $10 a month max right now
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    cpanel? I thought you wanted a GOOD host?

    And you're not going to find anything good for a business under $10/mo.
     
  5. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    it's not a big business. I don't need that much bandwidth, because I don't expect many customers.

    Any what's wrong with cPanel?
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2005
  6. PocoDiablo

    PocoDiablo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NOVA
    You can host on my dedicated server if you want. I'll give you an OT discount, how about $12.50/mo?

    http://www.onewebave.com/content/view/3/

    Standard plan:

    1gb storage
    2gb bandwidth

    Everything you need since I am running several OSCommerce stores for clients.

    cPanel - yes
    PHP with Register Globals on so I can use osCommerce - yes
    sendmail - yes
    MySQL - yes, 2 DB's
    FTP - yes
    SSH - yes, if requested.

    There are only about 10 sites on the newest server right now, so it's nice and quick. It's worth the extra $2.50/mo. :)

    PM me and we'll get you set up.

    -James F
     
  7. MrMan

    MrMan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    you should try webhostingtalk.com and do a search. This comes up all the time.
     
  8. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Having registered globals on is the worst, must unthought idea ever.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yea, uh, I use OSCommerce without registerglobals. So I dunno what that guy is smoking (not you toad... I agree with you)
     
  10. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I don't know how since it gives an error if it is off.

    "FATAL ERROR: register_globals is disabled in php.ini, please enable it!"
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    :mamoru: I've got an online shop using it with register globals off, right now
     
  12. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    well I guess your using a modified osCommerce 2.2 m2 or an unstable version in the cvs.
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    must be modified. I know it's not the CVS build. And if that is the "modified" copy then it should be the production-build... It's stable as a rock and requiring registerglobals is recockulous.
     
  14. Who Mike D

    Who Mike D Local Hustler

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio
  15. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    :werd:

    I've also worked on osCommerce, and registered globals was turned off. I'd seriously consider others to either modify osCommerce, or get new e-commerce software to avoid turning on registered globals.
     
  16. dk01

    dk01 Awwwwww..... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    All up in your interwebsnet.
    http://www.jaguarpc.com

    Very good. Got everything you need:
    1000 MB Storage
    45 GB Transfer
    Static IP
    Unlimited E-mail
    MySQL
    PHP, SSH, FTP

    for $5.95 a month. I use them and their service is great. They add apache extensions for me all the time.
     
  17. igotyofire

    igotyofire New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    can u host porn on them or does that against the TOS?
     
  18. PocoDiablo

    PocoDiablo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NOVA
    If we turn it off a huge majority of our sites won't work, so what's the option? Tell everyone to re-code their sites? Watch them cancel all their accounts and go somewhere else? As much as we like to promote security, there is a point where we have to provide functionality first and hope their code is current.

    Besides, there is no such thing as security on the Internet.

    Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. :ugh2:
     
  19. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    :ugh: I'm really suprised you're still in business.
     
  20. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    that's cause we have the likes of you to thank for that
     

Share This Page