GUN I need a good knife and multi-tool for work

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by DrewDown, Jun 25, 2008.

1. DrewDown

DrewDown OT Supporter

I'm a firefighter and my Captain recommended I get a good knife and mulitool for work.

I got this one as a gift but I have the reciept in case I wanna take it back. What do you all think?

http://www.swissarmy.com/MultiTools/Pages/Product.aspx?category=lockblades&product=53900&

[​IMG]

As far as a knife I don't know where to start but I don't mind spending some money. I know this is very broad but hopefully you guys can steer me in the right direction. :x:

2. yar1182

yar1182 New Member

The entry level benchmades and cold steel knives are pretty good. $30-$50 gets you a lot of knife. Something that you'll use like a tool.

For multi tools I like the gerbers, but there are a lot of leatherman whores out there too. My only criteria for a multi tools is that everything has to lock out. Since I'm mostly working of gun stuff than say car stuff I like the needle nose pliars vrs the fat nut twisters.

3. DrewDown

DrewDown OT Supporter

Thanks for the advice. I think the local Sportsmans Wharehouse has some nice benchmades. I will check them out. Also gonna look at their multi tools. The one I have has a lot of features and boasts that knife of the year award but for some reason after handling it, I'm not real impressed. Seems kinda flimsy and the blades seem like they would dull up real fast. :dunno:

4. I don't have any experience with SOG multi-tools, but I love their knives. There's not much to say about a knife, but SOG makes some really quality stuff, and their customer service is great.

5. itchiban

itchiban New Member