I know this is a really simple thing... PC2PC LAN

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by rumperpumper, Sep 23, 2006.

  1. rumperpumper

    rumperpumper New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    But whats the best way to connect a PC to PC via a lan cable?

    No router, no hub/switch no nothing. when i try to do it using the home networking wizard i cant manage to make it work.
     
  2. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is a cable called a 'CROSSOVER cable'.
    VERY VERY important it is called a CROSSOVER cable. Any LAN cable you may have lying around the house that came with a cable modem or a LAN card is NOT a crossover cable.

    You will need to buy one. Should be cheap enough, but you need that.

    I believe you just plug one end of it in one ethernet port and the other end into another ethernet port.

    There are also kits to use USB cables, IR ports and serial cables. But at the end of the day if both PC's already have ethernet ports then a crossover cable is your best bet.
     
  3. Furner

    Furner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    the crossover adapters are always trouble. just either buy one, or buy a crimper and some ends, and learn to make your own caples. its very simple and you can save alot of money.
     
  4. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    If both machine have it (shame it's not more popular) then you can connect them both with Firewire. No special cable required, just plug them both together.
     
  5. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Why are they trouble? It's the same amount of wires connected to the same plug, just in a different order.

    Almost no one uses a Xvr cable, just get a router and avoid the headache of reconfiguring your equipment.
     
  6. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Umm, except the firewire cable....
     
  7. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Umm, note the word "SPECIAL" in there? Unlike USB or Ethernet, you can use a regular firewire cable. There is no special crossover (Ethernet) or USB "network" cable/dongle required.
     

Share This Page