I just don't freaking understand Automator no matter how many links I read

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by itwasntme, Sep 22, 2006.

  1. itwasntme

    itwasntme New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know if I get that one piece of info I need, I'll understand it. I just don't get it at this point. It's complete greek to me.

    I wanna make automator resize my images automatically when I download them to my computer....... how do I do it?

    Doing it with photoshop is a pain in the arse. I want to have autopmator do it for me.

    I wish I had a program like windows powertoys where I can simply right click and hit resize.
     
  2. some person

    some person Sheep Shagging Priest

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brum, UK
    I have no idea how to use it, i wanted to create a script that would look at the textedit and replace instance of a certain hex color code with another, by god i have no idea how to do it, instead each time i need to find and replace manually!
     
  3. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    you can use iphoto to do it for you if you import to it. select the photos you want to resize, then shift+command+E.
     
  4. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Try this? It's really not that difficult.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. omgwtfbbqryan

    omgwtfbbqryan OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    yeah i still dont get it either :dunno:
     
  6. NSX

    NSX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8,942
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    none yo'

    Thanks! That was easy enough.

    ...and yeah, fuck automator. piece of shit. :squint:
     
  7. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Just because you might not understand it doesn't mean that it is a piece of shit ;)
     
  8. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Want some help with that? I'll see what I can do if I have an extra few minutes at work today.
     
  9. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    You can do the "Right click and resize"! I've already got an action that does something similar to that, I can modify it so you just have to right click on the image or folder and click resize.
     
  10. itwasntme

    itwasntme New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    now thats what i'm talking about. :)
     
  11. itwasntme

    itwasntme New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    looks like it could work. what confuses me about automator is where does it begin (when) and where does it end?
     
  12. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    That's what I thought to, "Find and Replace".

    You could make an Automator action to specifiy a file, specifiy what you want to change, then specifiy what you want to change it to, and then it would change it all w/o opening the file. I think it can do that, but haven't had a chance to look today.
     
  13. some person

    some person Sheep Shagging Priest

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brum, UK
    yeah the issue is im talking about a lot of files so dont want to manually find and replace, if that makes sense

    It doesnt always seem to have the options for what i want to do, would be handy if i could just do it with open to (basically transferring some small bits of html code over but instead of having blue and red style i want it to refer to stylesheet values)

    But dont want to alter everything, so was just extracting the bit i wanted from page, putting it into textedit and then find and replace the two varaibles
     
  14. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    i feel its the easiest automator program i've ever used...:dunno:

    I don't see why people make it out to be one of the hardest things ever. its starts with the first action you drop in it and ends with the last one...
     
  15. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Use his posted script, and save as a plugin for finder. This allows you to rightclick and run it.
     

Share This Page