SRS I just completely changed my life

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Deepsouthwrx, Sep 17, 2008.

1. Deepsouthwrx

Deepsouthwrx If in doubt, flat out!

Ive been in school since I graduated high school in 03, I've never had a break at all. Spent one year at a major university when I was 19 and completely wasted the opportunity by partying and not going to class. Spent another year getting the prereqs for nursing school which I never really wanted to go to but I did it anyways because it made my parents happy. Went through 1/2 of the program and the other day I finally decided to quit wasting my time and my parents money. Basically I've gone from living comfortably and rent free to being completely on my own so that I can pursue my real passion.

I won't go into what it is that I'm interested because Id rather not defend myself from OT (its nothing gay like hairstyling or anything) but even though I'm completely on my own now I feel happier and more liberated than I ever have in my life.

Has anyone else gone through something like this? Am I insane for giving up a free ride to college even though it wasn't what I wanted to do?

2. 7960

7960 New Member

Ok, so you have had a break.

That was a mistake I made. I wanted to be a teacher and my dad said "If you're going to study all that math anyway why not go into engineering?" I did and hated it and (short story) quit. Do not try to do something you don't really want to do; it's a recipe for failure.

What is it?

Wait until you start getting bills. That "happier and more liberated feeling" subsides pretty quick when you work your ass off and the govt takes 1/3 in taxes and 1/2 of what's left goes to rent/car.